Lisa 2.0

So since the whole job thing I’ve been striving to be a better version of me here and there. Mostly just standing up for myself and not taking no for an answer when I know that I deserve or need better.

That’s basically what I did today.

First thing this morning I called the doctor’s office because the prescription did absolutely nothing for me. I barfed three times last night then at 6 a.m. and then a bunch more times today. It even happened in the shower. So I kept waiting and waiting for a call back from the doctor’s office and never got one. So then I called a couple hours before my orientation and they just told me that they were probably busy with more urgent calls.

So I went to orientation (which I will talk about later). I was walking out to my car when I just decided I wasn’t going to be a pushover. I walked back in, even though it was now like 5:30 p.m. and I walked upstairs and down the hall to where my doctor’s office is. There were still people waiting to be seen and a few nurses floating around. So I just said that I really needed to be seen because I had been barfing all day and I kept trying to call and not getting a response. I said that the medicine that was prescribed didn’t work at all.

So it took awhile, but they worked me in. And my doctor was glad that I had stopped by instead of waiting until I was completely dehydrated. Well, and he wanted to congratulate me because he knows we were trying for exactly a year.

I got a new prescription for Zofran, which is used to treat chemo patients with nausea problems, and for Pepcid, to control the acid. He said if I can keep down liquids tonight and one of my yogurt drinks tomorrow that I should be OK. If not, he wants me to stop in tomorrow afternoon and he’ll have me admitted overnight for an IV.

Orientation… Just basically it signs you up for the classes and they have you fill out all your paperwork and lab slips ahead of time. And you get a big bag of stuff… like a bunch of free advertising for all the baby products companies.

We did get a certificate for a free 6oz steak dinner from Tahoe Joe’s. So that was exciting.

So far the Zofran seems to be working. I was nearly about to barf when I got home, and I still feel a little sick, but the barf feeling is gone.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy and Birth

Leave a Reply

