Ode to good health insurance

One of the nice things about Stephen working for a healthcare management company is that he works for a healthcare management company.

He knows all the people that process our claims. He can make sure by talking to people at the company that we are getting the best care possible. It really is very nice. The other nice thing about the company is that they flag cases of employees and family members as “VIP” which means that not everyone in the company has to know what is going on with us. Our information is kept confidential between us and some senior company members.

Today I got a follow up call from a case nurse. This particular case nurse said that she has a lot of background experience in OB/GYN offices. So she is very familiar with hyperemesis gravidarum. She gave me some tips for coping like not trying to eat three meals a day, but just snacking instead and even to obey my cravings. This is some of the stuff I read online, but it had I not been such a research nerd it would have been really helpful.

The most exciting part though was she gave me a phone number where I could reach her. She said that if I’m not feeling well during the week, I can call and she can have someone come out to our house to give me an IV. That way I don’t have to go to the ER all the time.

My veins are super sore from all these IVs lately, but if I have to have another one it will be nice not having to call Stephen, make him come home, go to the ER, wait in the waiting room and then wait forever while the bags drain with Stephen sitting in an uncomfortable plastic chair or me on a bench in the hallway, both of us exhausted and cold.

This is how healthcare should be all the time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy and Birth

Leave a Reply

