Last night I did my first IV bag change by myself

Last night I did my first IV bag change by myself. I pricked my finger on a needle. Then like two hours later my arm started hurting, my wrist got puffy the IV site hurt and it itched. So I called the nursing service and the nurse told me to take the IV out. It was hard to peel off all the tape and then pull that thing out. It hurt.

The nurse couldn’t come put it back in until this morning.

I woke up at 5:30 this morning and just had to eat something or I knew I would be sick. So I had some applesauce. Then I went back to bed.

So I got up for real at about 8 a.m. I threw up twice while trying to get all my stuff ready to take a shower. Then I threw up again after my shower. Then I threw up when I got out to the couch.

The nurse arrived around 10 a.m. and got a new IV line started in my other hand. I actually like the placement of this one better because it gives me more use of my hand.

All of my good veins that nurses are always praising seem to have disappeared now that I’m pregnant.

She said it is normal for the irritation to happen. The IV is a foreign object and during pregnancy our bodies are very sensitive to foreign objects and reject them. When it happens I can just pull it out and she can start a new one for me.

I’ve thrown up a couple more times today. Still can’t keep anything down, but at least I’m getting vitamins and hydration anyway.

Tomorrow is the big day for the ultrasound. I’m very excited about that.

I also feel very blessed. Our pastor’s wife offered to come help us or sit with me recently. So sometime this week she’s going to do a little tidying up around here which really hasn’t happened since right after Christmas.

Stephen has tried to keep up with things, but he’s usually pretty busy studying and stuff so things are starting to pile up. I can’t wait to have clean floors again!

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy and Birth

Leave a Reply

