13 weeks 5 days

So I had a doctor’s appointment this morning. My thyroid levels this time around definitively showed that have hyperthyroidism. So my doctor is going to put me on a drug called PTU to start treating it. He thinks that the hyperthyroidism is what is causing my nausea and vomiting. He says the PTU should help me to start feeling better.

The drug can sometimes cause hypothyroidism in the baby at birth, but he says it typically is only a temporary occurance as a result of the hyperthyroid drug that I will be taking. The baby will have the thyroid levels tested at birth.

So I’m going to be on the lowest possible dose for PTU and I’ll have my labs done again in 7 days to check and see where my levels are.

I really hope that this is finally the answer and I’m finally going to start feeling better.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy and Birth

Leave a Reply

