14 weeks 1 day

Today has been a long day and it’s only 7 pm. I probably overdid myself, but I guess I’ll just have to see if that really is the case.

The day started out looking not so good. I gagged myself while trying to take my thyroid medicine and then threw up about 10 seconds later. Somehow the pills managed to stay inside though. At least I’m pretty sure they did.

I should have had my dose of Zofran first and then taken the pills. And I should have been more careful when taking them so that I didn’t gag myself.

I crawled back into bed for about an hour after that. Then both of us got up. Stephen made me some eggs and I started to feel a little better.

I still felt nauseated, but we made it to church. I felt kinda crappy during worship from all the standing, but once I sat down I did OK. I figured I was going to be sitting down and feeling crappy whether I was at church or at home. I’m tired of sitting at home. It was a welcomed change of venue.

After church we went to lunch with Stephen’s friend Jesse who is a missionary in Australia. He came back to Bakersfield for a short break for his brother’s wedding. I wasn’t feeling great, but Jesse isn’t here very often so I sucked it up. Besides it was interesting hearing all of Jesse’s outback stories.

Well we wound up talking with Jesse way past the lunch hour and before we knew it, it was already 3:30. We headed home to let our dogs outside and so I could get my afternoon dose of medicine.

But the day did not end there. We decided to make a trip to Best Buy and Target.

Stephen needed some computer stuff for a computer he’s fixing up for my dad and we needed a new wireless router because ours keeps crapping out on us.

It felt like we were in Best Buy forever. I hate going to Best Buy. There’s always so many people and it’s right next to the WalMart so that kind of mentality just spills over into our Best Buy.

If there is one thing that bugs me more than anything while I am shopping it is people walking painfully slow or stopping and taking up the whole isle so that you can’t get by.

The service at Best Buy is always really horrible too. There are too many people and not enough staff to answer everyone’s questions. I think we waited in line for half an hour just to get a price check on a CD rom drive only to be told when we got to the head of the line that we were in the wrong line for a price check and needed to go to a different line. Ugh! It was not a good experience.

After that we went to Target where a much better shopping experience awaited us.

Today I bought my first two pairs of maternity pants. This is not because I am actually needing maternity pants just yet, but because I need pants, period. One pair of wool capris that is two years old is not going to get me through the next few weeks until I actually need the maternity pants. So insteads of buying regular pants that I’m only going to get to wear for a few weeks, I bought some maternity pants that can grow as I grow.

Now that I got them home though, I’m wondering if I should have listened to my instincts in the dressing room and gone down to a size 6 instead of the 8 I thought I was. They fit, but they’re loose. Oh well, I guess I just have room to gain some weight the next few months.

But anyway Target is great. I went straight to the maternity section, found a pair of jeans and a pair of kind of kahkish pants quickly. Then I went to the dressing room tried them on real quick and then we were done and out of there. No long lines. No throngs of people. Plenty of space in the isles. Just a better shopping experience altogether.

Now I’m totally exhausted and if I thought I was nauseated before, then that was nothing. Still, even when I feel “bad” like this now, it isn’t nearly as bad as it was a few weeks ago. Even now my bad days don’t begin to compare to uncontrollable vomiting every 15-30 minutes. Things are much better. There is light at the end of this tunnel and it isn’t this permanent rut I’m stuck in. I have to keep reminding myself of that. A day like today would not have even been possible then.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy and Birth

Leave a Reply

