15 weeks 2 days

On and off through all four years of high school I was a vegetarian. I took a brief break for couple years and then I read Fast Food Nation and once again found myself meat free for about 2 years.

In all the years of being a vegetarian it was never because I abhored the taste of meat. Well I take that back… initially it was because I got tired of eating beef or pork every night whenever we slaughtered one of our ranch animals. But there was also the part of actually seeing those animals killed that really bothered me. There’s nothing like seeing blood pour from the slit neck of a defenseless being to turn you off to the practice of meat eating.

I eventually got over that, especially once I learned to cook my own meals and experiment with recipes. Then, after reading Fast Food Nation I once again could not bring myself to eat meat because I was afraid of what might be in it based on the accounts of our nation’s slaughterhouses that are found in the book.

After a couple weeks of being vegetarian though I’d always go back to craving meat. It was when these cravings became unbearable that I usually gave in and either cheated a little or gave up the practice altogether.

To completely detest the idea of meat, the taste of it, etc. was really weird these last couple months. I mean, I’ve always liked rice and beans, but not that much.

So today when I had a craving for one of these:

I knew that everything was definitely going back to normal. I even drove halfway across town just to sink my teeth into one today.

Craving In-N-Out cheeseburgers was something I expected from my pregnancy, losing 14lbs and the rest of it was not.

It’s good to be normal again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy and Birth

Leave a Reply

