Going green and cloth!

Over the past few weeks I’ve been researching and looking into cloth diapers.

It started when my friend Tiffany, who I think is about to give birth any day now, said that she was going to do it. I know it’s another way to do something natural and environmentally friendly, but I was a little hesitant about it. Then I saw THE CUTEST cloth diapers made by Emily, my friend Megan’s sister.

Emily was a great resource and gave me lots of information, but I was still a little unsure about the whole thing. This is mostly because it seemed like you had to keep buying diapers every few months and I wasn’t sure it was really going to save money. I was almost afraid that it would wind up costing more money than disposables. Not that money is the end all of my decision, but it just seemed like a huge investment to make on something I wasn’t completely sure about.

Of course the few people we’ve told about this cloth diapering idea think we’re crazy, even older people who raised their kids before disposables were the thing to do. Despite the naysayers I was still wanting to find some way to do this. So here and there when I thought about it, I would look up more information and try to figure out what to do.

Well today after reading this really excellent article, I was pushed over the top. But the financial investment thing was still of serious concern.

I did some more searching and then I found what I think is the perfect solution. It’s the bumGenius 3.0 one size cloth diaper. I couldn’t believe what I was reading. A cloth diaper that adjusts from 7 to 35lbs. So you buy one set of diapers and it lasts the whole whole time you need diapers. And it’s the all-in-one kind of diaper so you don’t have to buy separate inserts and covers. I went and looked back at the information Emily sent me and it was one of the ones she endorsed.

So now I’m not feeling so overwhelmed and like this is really a possibility.

Leave a comment

Filed under Natural Living, Pregnancy and Birth

Leave a Reply

