Get your predictions in…

So tomorrow is the big ultrasound day at 11am. I thought it would be fun if everyone put in their predictions before hand.

I know there are a lot of ways people go about making these predictions so I’m going to try and include as much information here as possible to help you out. I looked up several sites with lists of the “old wives tales” to try and get everything in that would be a factor. If there is something missing that you need to know to make your decision just ask and I’ll see what I can do.

First up, latest belly shot of my bare belly taken this morning prior to eating:

(Also proof for my sister Cherie that it is not a pillow under there!).

So far the baby seems very active to me, but this being my first I guess I can’t be completely sure because I have nothing to compare it to. This activity has especially picked up in the last few days. It seems there isn’t a time when the baby is completely still. The last three days in particular it definitely felt like baby was having a party in there or doing summersaults.

Most of the movements I am able to feel are right by where my appendix scar is on my lower right abdomen. I also feel them on my bladder and occassionally just left of my belly button. So you could say the baby likes to hang out down low. To be fair though, according to my week by week pregnancy book the uterus only reached 3/4″ above my belly button this week. So the baby really hasn’t had many options when it comes to hangout spots.

All of the weight “gain” has been in my belly (I put gain in quotes because I’m still in the negative overall, but have gained some back in the last two months). Since I’ve been so sick, I actually still weigh less at this point than I have our whole marriage and I can wear size 2 maternity pants comfortably… I haven’t worn a size 2 since I was a senior in high school.

Cravings have included the following: In-N-Out cheeseburgers and vanilla shakes, sour patch kids, nacho cheese Doritos, Rice Krispie treats, Jelly Belly sours, rice and beans, tangerines, fruit in general, vanilla ice cream, asparagus, orange soda (I like the more natural kinds best like Izze and Orangina… I’ll tolerate the other ones, but they’re a bit too syrupy), root beer, apple juice, Cinnabon cinnamon rolls with extra cream cheese frosting, cheddar cheese, french toast, and eggs with other stuff (like a bagel egg sandwich or scrambled skillet eggs with potatoes and stuff mixed in).

I think my only real food aversion is chicken, but I do avoid acidic/spicey foods when I get heartburn.

My skin and hair are more oily than ever. I can’t skip washing my hair for even a day before it winds up stringy and saturated with oil. Acne is almost worse than it was for me in junior high. I’ve got it on my back, shoulders, neck, face and chest. It’s the really big nodule kind too that hurt so bad!

I’ve had a lot of hip pain. If I don’t go to the chiropractor once a week my hip joints click and grind when I walk. I wake up several times in the night to switch sleeping sides because it hurts so bad.

Each time we’ve gone in the heartbeat has been around 160.

If you remember, my original instinct was that we were having a boy. We also asked my nearly four year old niece, Hannah, what she thought it was and she said that she thought it was a boy. However, if you subscribe to the theories of Dr. Landrum Shettles, then there is a very good chance that we are having a girl based on the timing of ovulation and intercourse (sorry if that is a TMI fact for you).

I got “morning” sickness very early on. The first instance started about 12 days after conception (I didn’t know I was pregnant and thought I just had a stomach flu bug that I couldn’t shake). And yes, I am still sick. Even with the thyroid problems under control and anti-nausea medicine I get sick to the point of throwing up about once a week. I still wake up most mornings feeling really nauseaus.

For the most part I would say that body temp-wise I don’t get cold as easily as I did before I was pregnant. It used to be that my feet and hands were constantly like ice, but now they tend to be about the same temperature as the rest of my body.

As far as I can tell Stephen has not gained any sympathy weight. :p

Everyone says I look really great and like I’m not even pregnant (which I have to say, that second statement is a little discouraging). I feel huge though when I look down at my belly or in the mirror.

My chest area has not changed sizes since the pregnancy.

I was 24 at the time of conception which occured in December of 2007.

As far as I can tell my nose has not changed shape.

I get headaches all the time. I haven’t had any migranes though since last year sometime. The headaches have decreased in occurance since I stopped taking Zofran which causes headaches.

When I tied my wedding ring to a string and held the top of the string to my belly button the ring went in counter-clockwise circles.

Some of these were really funny things… but I hope it helps you figure it out. Obviously your options are boy or girl, but you could also say “baby will be uncooperative”. I’ll make the announcement tomorrow afternoon when I get home. 🙂

Edited to add:
The parent’s siblings: Stephen has one sister and I have three.

OK all this morning and afternoon the kicking has consistently been just above and to the right of my belly button. Thought I’d throw that in there in case it is significant to anyone’s decision making.

Stephen had what he called a very “vivid” dream that it was a boy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy and Birth

Leave a Reply

