So really Stephen was right… no need to freak out…

Today I had another OB appointment to followup with my ultrasound last week.

I was a little nervous going into this appointment because I was going to open the birth plan can of worms discussion.

I don’t know why I was nervous. My OB has been totally great through this whole pregancy and through all the infertility stuff.

Well I handed him the beginnings of my birth plan and pretty much the only thing he said was non-negotiable was that I have to have an IV line started when I’m admitted to the hospital. He said if my labs look alright then they’ll just hep-lock it off and keep it there for an emergency, but that it can be useful to make sure I’m hydrated which apparently helps with the labor pain somewhat. So I guess I can be OK with that. I mean I’ve already had a ton of IVs this pregnancy anyway, one more isn’t going to kill me.

So that’s not that big of a deal. And he doesn’t routinely do episiotomies or a bunch of stuff I was really worried about. He said he’s had the priviledge of seeing many women through a completely natural childbirth too.

Basically all my fears were put to rest.

The only thing I was really bummed about is that the hospital isn’t set up for cord blood donation. After the series of stories on Sofia, I vowed to myself that if I ever had a baby I would donate the cord blood because a cord blood donation was what put her in remission the first time in her battle with leukemia. Well apparently there is only one hospital in California that is set up for cord blood donations and that hospital is located all the way in San Francisco. My doctor said that there is some talk of making a national program for it in the next 5-10 years, but basically until they are forced to do it most hospitals are not going to do anything about it. What is weird though is that I do have the option of banking the cord blood for my own selfish family purposes, they just won’t let me donate it. It just really frustrates me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy and Birth

Leave a Reply

