55 more days…

…provided I actually go into labor on my due date… yeah right, why would anything else about this pregnancy be normal?

OK I know I’m not huge. But I seriously feel so huge. Have I told you yet about how much of a chore turning over in bed has become? I don’t think I have.

So the other night I decided I wanted to lay on my right side instead of my left. I finally get over to the left and I’m breathing a little loudly from the effort that went into changing sleep positions. So Stephen goes, “OK Baxter,” in reference to our beagle that snores and breathes really loud.

Even just sitting on the couch it feels like I have this really huge bowling ball just squashed and hanging off the front of me.

And throwing up at 32 weeks? Way worse than it was at like 20 or 14. Not that I’m back to the vicious throw-up dehydration cycle, just that the actual act of it takes way more out of me.

I did have a weird thing work for me this morning though. About an hour after breakfast I started to feel all hot and clamy and really nauseated. I went and sat on the cold tile in our bathroom under the AC vent like I usually do, but even that wasn’t enough to cool me down or make me feel much better. I thought for sure today was going to end up being like yesterday.

Well, I was just so hot that I asked Stephen to get me an ice pack (technically I guess it’s a cold pack since it isn’t real ice) from our freezer. I started putting it on my shoulders and back and face. I actually started to feel a little better. Well then the baby started moving around an insane amount which was just making me even more nauseaus. I felt like she was kicking my stomach (not my belly, the actual organ). I’d read somewhere that if the baby is kicking you someplace that you don’t like you could try putting an ice pack or something cold there and the baby would move away from that place. I’d been too lazy or it hurt too much to move and actually get an ice pack in the past when she kicked me someplace I didn’t like. This time I had one right in my hands. So I put it at the top of my belly which is basically where the base of my sternum is now. It was like the nausea was suddenly turned off. It was so weird. I got up from the floor still holding the ice pack, went and laid in bed and fell asleep with the ice pack up against my stomach. When I woke up about an hour later I felt totally normal.

Now let me tell you, I’ve heard my share of weird morning sickness remedies, but I think this one is just the weirdest of all. I definitely won’t be trying to push it on any of my pregnant friends though like other people did with me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy and Birth

Leave a Reply

