One for cake wrecks… how appropriate for my shower

*Just from the outset I should point out that I have permission from my MIL and mom to make fun of this cake. No feelings will be hurt. I am not the pregnant version of “bridezilla”.

If you don’t know, one of my favorite blogs to read right now is Cake Wrecks. The awful cakes and the commentary are so hilarious. You really ought to head on over there to check it out.

My MIL, my mom and my friend Erin all got together to throw me a baby shower at our church. It was really nice and they all did a great job. I got so many great gifts.

I believe my MIL ordered the shower cake from Costco. She wasn’t into the preset stork design that they offered for baby shower cakes though. So instead she decided to get a little creative. She took a picture of this stuffed baby rattle thing that was going to be incorporated into one of the center pieces and asked them to recreate it on the cake:

This is what they came up with:

Gotta love some hot pink baby!

Now one of the things about Cake Wrecks that she always points out is the misplaced use of quotation marks. In this case, it does kind of make sense though. See the shower was the day before my birthday. My MIL figured there would be plenty of cake leftover after the shower and that she could get double use out of it at the little family birthday party that was held that night. So birth is in quotes I guess to sort of alude to my birthday and the fact that we were celebrating the impending birth of my child.

Oh well. The cake was actually great tasting. My favorite was the strawberry cream filling. I could live off that stuff.

Needless to say with all this weekend’s festivities it was not a good time to be tracking my diet for our natural childbirth class.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy and Birth

Leave a Reply

