39 weeks

I’ve been hesitant to post about what has been going on around here the last few days because I don’t want everyone to get all excited and in a frenzy. I’d also like to avoid getting 1 billion comments, text messages, phone calls, e-mails, etc. asking me something along the lines of “Is it time yet?”. My dad has already started.

I have been pretty forthcoming in the past though, so I don’t want to suddenly change at the last minute.

So here goes…

Friday morning I woke up at 3:15ish to have my usual potty break. I got back into bed and around 3:30 I started having some very mild contractions. These were different from BHs (Braxton Hicks) in that I felt really crampy. The cramping started out low in my pelvis, radiated upwards and around the back. They were also different from the BHs that I had experienced in that they were actually coming and going. With BHs my tummy got kind of sore and hard, but it just stayed that way for awhile, several minutes usually. I wasn’t timing them because I was tired and figured that if this was the real thing it was early and I should still try to get as much rest as possible. Well around 4:30 everything stopped when I got up to have a snack because I was suddenly starving. After my snack I was able to fall back asleep until 7 when it started up again for a few minutes. I only had 3 or 4 though this time and again everything stopped when I got up. I felt kind of crampy on and off throughout the day and that evening. I went to bed and haven’t had anything like it since

Saturday was mostly uneventful. It was our 5 year wedding anniversary and the second time in a row we couldn’t really do anything (last year we were moving). Earlier in the week we had talked about maybe going out to dinner, but honestly we’ve eaten out so much the past couple weeks that it wouldn’t even really be a treat to eat out. It just didn’t sound appealing to me. So I decided to get ambitious and cook us some scrumptious meals throughout the day. I left the house pretty early and went to the grocery store for some ingredients and general grocery shopping. When I got back I made chocolate chip waffles with strawberry syrup and canadian bacon for breakfast. Then I started cleaning the kitchen to get it ready for the rest of the day’s cooking. I decided to make chicken pot pie based on a recipe I saw earlier this week (I tweaked it a bit though). This seemed like a really great idea because I could make two and freeze one for after the baby is here and I could make it ahead of time when I was feeling good, then just pop it in the oven at the end of the day when I was tired.

Well, about halfway into putting together everything I started to feel really out of breath and kind of dizzy. I kept sitting down to take a break, but that wasn’t really helping. I felt like my lungs were totally squished when I sat down. It kind of helped to sort of put my head on the kitchen counter and stick my butt out so my belly just hung down. Finally, I kind of started to freak out about it and had Stephen call our midwife and he made me lay down on the couch. She asked him a bunch a questions and then said that she thought I was 1) trying to do too much, 2) dehydrated because it was about noon and I’d only had 12oz of water to drink the whole day, 3) the baby has been kicking me in the diaphram and it throws my breathing pattern off.

So I had to lay down for a couple hours (which was really boring and really hard for me to do) and drink a bunch of water. About 20 minutes later I felt totally fine, but still had to lay there, per Stephen questioning even when I got up to go to the bathroom.

I had two BHs the whole day and no cramping. Last night nothing and so far this morning has been pretty uneventful too.

I guess Friday was just “practice” and a fluke. Oh well, still got a week to go anyway.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy and Birth

Leave a Reply

