Midwife appointment

We talked about my OB’s manditory induction rule and how she wants me to go back to see him for an NST. It was basically an ongoing topic the entire appointment. She did say she might be able to have us get an NST as a cash patient with her other backup OB (he’s at a different practice). It would buy us a little more time and we wouldn’t have to face my OB just yet. Since the discussion was kind of ongoing we basically decided that we wouldn’t really worry about that bridge until Monday morning.

Stephen was scheming all these ways we could beat around the system. It was just funny to see him so protective of our chance to home birth, a definite frustration with the medical system and my doctor’s blanket rule. It’s like he’s become a completely different person in the last few weeks. I really feel confident now that he’s right there with me in this decision and not just going along with what I want. I know he’s sure about our decision. It really makes me so much more comfortable. I don’t know how to explain it or explain why that is important, but it is.

I’m still measuring fine, baby is moving, baby and I are growing, and her heart rate is fine. I did have a slightly higher blood pressure reading at this appointment, but my midwife thinks that the topic of discussion probably has something to do with that. Everything else was normal.

I decided I wanted her to do a cervical check. I just wanted to know if all this cramping and false labor is doing anything. I’m still 2 cm, but I’m now 70% effaced. The baby is definitely at 0. My midwife used Evening Primrose Oil (EPO) as a lubricant which is also an old midwife trick for softening the cervix. She also said she “irritated” my cervix a little on purpose which might help start some contractions.

She told me a couple more things we could try this weekend, EPO capsules being one of them. The other thing she said I could try is castor oil, but she said her only concern with that is my HG history and the possibility of getting dehydrated. If I do it, I need to make sure to drink plenty of water and probably some Gatorade too.

Anyway, that’s where things stand for now. Will update if there is anything exciting to share.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy and Birth

Leave a Reply

