This just might be it (or the labor post)

This is for all you antsy pants out there. 🙂

I started having some very mild contractions last night at dinner. We were out to eat and our plan had been to go to the park and do some walking out there. Except that it hurt to walk to the bathroom and the car before we left the restaurant so we decided against it.

These contractions were totally different than anything I’d thought was labor before. I’d feel a lot of pelvic pressure/crampiness and with my hands on my belly I could feel it tighten and lift up. Sometimes the pressure/crampiness still wasn’t going away in between so the only way I could tell if the contraction was over was to keep prodding at my belly until I was sure that it was soft again.

When we got home I started trying to time them, but they didn’t really have any kind of pattern.

Since it was taking a lot of concentration to even know when I was having a contraction I just decided to ignore it as best I could. I was also still dealing with the hives so I just took some Benadryl and fell asleep.

I woke back up a little after midnight kind of feeling like I was on fire because the Benadryl had worn off and the hives were massive.

I was still having contractions, but the hives made it pretty easy to ignore them. I apologized to Stephen who was sleeping and started drawing up an oatmeal bath which I soaked in for an hour. Those oatmeal baths are great when I’m actually in the water, but the effects don’t last long afterwards and it doesn’t really help with the hives on my face. By the time the bath was over though it was safe for another dose of Benadryl which I took.

I woke up several times throughout the night to put on skin creams take more Benadryl and use ice packs to soothe the hives. I was still having contractions whenever I’d wake.

This morning I noticed that the contractions were getting more intense, but I was still so ichy that I really couldn’t focus on them. I could definitely tell though when one began and end easily.

I headed to the grocery store to get some more oatmeal and some breakfast goods. I felt several contractions in the store. I noticed the hives were subsiding a bit except on my face. My face is just all red and swollen like I have a sunburn. It pretty much sucks.

I got home and ground up some of the oatmeal in my food processor to make a find powder which I then mixed into a paste and did kind of a spa type body mask with. I was still having contractions, but not really paying attention to them. I took a shower to wash off all the oatmeal paste and in the shower I really started to notice my contractions more because I wasn’t feeling all itchy for once.

When I got out I decided to lay down for awhile and start timing them. They started out about 5-8 minutes apart and 1 minute long. I took a break from timing them for awhile and then resumed. This time they were 1-3 minutes apart and about 40 seconds long.

I called my midwife to give her a heads up and Stephen came home at lunch so I told him that I was still having contractions since last night. I sent him back to work though because they still are not so intense that I can’t think about anything else when they happen.

I just decided to go on a walk to see if I can’t help things along. It was really weird. When I go walking I always get BHs until my belly just gets really hard and stays that way for the rest of the walk. Well that happened, but I could tell I was still having real contractions on top of that. I could still feel the pelvic pressure coming and going even though my belly kind of stayed tight and hard the whole walk.

I haven’t timed things since I’ve been back, but they definitely haven’t gone away. Every other time I’ve had “false labor” it’s been under two hours. So this seems way more promising.

Not sure if I’ll be posting more after this, but I think this just might be it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pregnancy and Birth

Leave a Reply

