Bah Humbug!

OK, that’s not totally how I feel, but just a little.

It just seems like nothing Christmas related is going the way I planned at this point.

First is our Christmas lights. We tried to put them up last weekend and they wouldn’t turn on. We couldn’t figure it out. Stephen fiddled and fiddled. We replaced bulbs and tried and tried to get them to work. We spent the whole day on it. Well turns out we had too many strands on the same circuit (you’re only supposed to have 3 strung together, not 11 plus three tree things).

So our Christmas lights are still not coming on at this point. This weekend we’re going to take down a majority of what we put up and go with the simple line with three tree things that we had last year:

Speaking of trees, we’re not getting one this year. Growing up I always had real trees and we’ve had one every year we’ve been married. But we decided last year was the last time we’d have a real tree.

Why? It’s always a pain getting our tree because we have to borrow someone’s truck to go get it and then borrow someone’s truck to take it away. It gets needles everywhere. You have to water it every day. AND last year after we got our tree home we realized that it reeked of feline pee. Our house stunk for a whole week. I went through two cans of Febreeze air stuff trying to make the smell go away. Our theory is that some large cat species (Mountain Lion, Cougar, Bob Cat, etc.) got it. Also we decided that they are just too expensive to buy year after year.

The plan was to get a very nice fake tree this year, something that would be a good investment to use for many years to come. Well, I’m of the mindset that if I am going to have a fake tree it better be something I want to look at year after year. The trees that fulfill that for me are WAY too expensive. So we’re not getting a tree this year. We’ll put the presents by the fireplace that never gets used.

I can see my dad cringing as he reads this.

Another bah humbug thing? My Christmas knitting projects. I have been working on sweater #1 FOR.EV.ER. There is no way it is going to be done in time for Christmas, let alone the other two that I had planned on making.

I think I’m losing my knitting mojo, y’all. Seriously.

I was working 9-6pm last year at this time (during which I did no knitting) and I still managed to complete quite the long list of knitted items. I’m home all the time now. I knit when she’s nursing, sleeping, playing etc. I feel like I am knitting all.the.time. Yet progress remains slow.

Plus Sweater #1 is too big. It isn’t actually bigger than the size it is intended to be, I just know that the recipient of this sweater and the others like to wear tight clothing and this isn’t going to jive with that style. The sweaters will be lovely when they are done, just not something they would wear.

So I’m keeping them for myself and the $72 I spent on yarn for them will now come out of my clothing budget. Which is OK, but I actually wanted to spend my clothing budget on pants not tops. Oh well.

Anyway, I’m now left trying to come up with new present ideas for these peeps. I’ve got two of them figured out, I think. I hope. I’m finally allowed to go Christmas shopping next week (budgetary constraints prevented earlier shopping).

And yes, shopping this late is definitely something I am NOT looking forward to. At all. Not one bit. I hate crowds. I hate lines. And this year I have a baby to add into the mix of shopping craziness. I’m getting stressed out just thinking about it.

So anyway that pretty much sums up why I say bah humbug! Thanksgiving is just so much more fun and easier. Way less pressure. Just cooking, eating and hanging out with the fam. That is MY kind of holiday.

4 Comments

Filed under Craftopia, Family, Ramblings

4 responses to “Bah Humbug!

  1. Sunny

    I’ve had my own bit of bah humbug this year too. Don’t worry about the tree, you will be able to find those really expensive couple hundred dollar trees for CHEAP after Christmas. Buy one then and you’ll have it ready for next year. That is really the best time to buy one. It stinks to not have one this year, but thankfully Bean really won’t care. πŸ˜‰
    I’m sorry the knitting isn’t going so well. I’m no help there.
    Oh, and now that you’re at home, go do your Christmas shopping as early in the day as you can during the work week. I was just running errands yesterday and there were absolutely NO crowds. Target was really quiet and I got a very close parking spot. Avoid late afternoons, evenings and weekends as much as you can and your shopping can go very smoothly. I hate crowds too. It makes things stressful for me and not fun.

  2. Crystal

    I’m bah humbug too. We have no decorations up b/c I just don’t want to deal with putting them up and taking them down. I figure Ella won’t remember anyway and Xmas will be at my parents and in-laws and they have stuff up so we’re good. We’re doing our shopping tomorrow and I’m not looking forward to braving the mobs with a baby.

  3. omigosh, that is so insanely sweet of you to offer your help, but I totally understand how you would feel(from one sickie to another:)It is my dream one day to help someone with morning sickness! thankfully i have been feeling a bit better lately. I even cleaned the boys bathroom today AND the kitchen sink! WOW for me!
    thanks again. that really was so kind of you to offer!

  4. oh honey, you have a kid now… NOTHING will ever get done as quickly as you want it to. πŸ™‚

    I’m sorry you’re feeling bah hum bug– it’s so frustrating when things don’t work out as planned! Just remember to give yourself a break from time to time. And don’t feel bad if some things just don’t happen. This is your first year trying to accomplish all this with a little one! And you are doing an amazing job.

Leave a Reply

