Because I needed to start more projects…

Yesterday I met up with my friend Tiffany for lunch and a trip to JoAnn’s. Tiffany just recently stopped working and we decided that once that happened we would be doing lots of stay-at-home-mom adventures together. Yesterday was the first one.

When we told our husbands we were going to embark on a sewing project together, they said, “Why don’t you just finish the projects you’ve already started?” (Well, something along those lines anyway). And while I’m sure that at some point I’ll get around to the quilt I bought fabric for over four months ago, that was not exactly what I had in mind for our first playdate/adventure.

Olive and Archie, however, were EXACTLY what I had in mind. Especially after seeing all of Cara’s examples, including Will’s Archie up close at Chinese New Year.

So I conspired with Tiffany and we decided this was the perfect project for our first adventure. We met up at Brinks for lunch (mmm… Ortega melt) and then set off for the fabric store.

Stephen, by the way, has no idea how much time can be spent in the fabric store and how that alone is enough for one adventure. Monday night he said, “Well aren’t you getting together after the fabric store?” I was like, “No, the fabric store will probably take up the whole time. A good couple of hours.” And it did. I left the house at 11:50ish, stopped at Kinko’s to print our patterns, then we had lunch then JoAnns and I didn’t get back home until 2:40ish.

Stephen said I could spend $20 and I miraculously stayed within budget (only went over by 47 cents). I was even able to procure fabric for the sling I am supposed to make for Talia.

Behold:

Anyway, that’s about it for now. I will be back with a Bean update later today, but right now she’s doing the “I’m tired and cranky” hum so I’d better change her diaper, wipe her nose, feed her and hopefully send her off to sleep for an hour or so.

7 Comments

Filed under Craftopia

7 responses to “Because I needed to start more projects…

  1. Woah, I know what you mean about fabric stores being addictive. I could spend hours just looking at all the beautiful patterns—drooling. I think I could spend a fortune too.

    You did great to stay under 20!

  2. The sling material looks gorgeous! And I’d love a dress or skirt with the fabric you have picked out for Olive. Wow, those dolls are going to look fabulous!

  3. those dolls are adorable!! How have I never seen them and their little story before? I loved it! I can’t wait to see how yours turn out.

    You’re really going to make me a sling?? You are so sweet. I’m quite excited to have my own this time around. Just let me know if you want me to reimburse you for your material costs or anything, because I am more than willing to do that, since you’re going to the trouble. 🙂

  4. lwuertz

    Of course you are not going to reinburse me! This is my baby gift!

  5. I spent hours in multiple fabric stores yesterday looking for new diaper bag fabric. I’m not happy with the one I made at the end of my pregnancy so I found a new pattern and finally new fabric. Its a local decorator store that closes at 5, so there’s no going after Jason gets off of work. The good news there is I’m raising boys who will understand how long it takes at the fabric store because both of the older boys were with me for the entire couple of hours I was in there walking around with random scraps of fabric in hand.

  6. All those fabrics are just so awesome. Maybe it’s a good thing that I don’t have a sewing machine. I could see myself buying stacks and stacks of fabric with no energy to actually make anything. I can’t wait to see how all your projects turn out though! You always do such a good job

  7. Oh, what an adorable idea! Can’t wait to see how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

