I have no idea what I am doing

So I planted a garden. It has everything that I use a lot of in my cooking: tomatoes, lettuces, herbs, and bell peppers. It was really hard work and hopefully I don’t kill anything!

I’m also hoping the squirrels don’t kill it. Our neighbor said he tried to plant stuff a couple years ago and those guys ate their plants down to nubs!

I planted some Marigolds for a natural insect repellant (I learned this from our sixth grade class garden and my mom) and a lone Gerber Daisy because they’re my favorite.

I’m really sore all over from the project.

6 Comments

Filed under Homemade, Natural Living

6 responses to “I have no idea what I am doing

  1. Wow! Looks great! I really hope those rascals don’t eat all your hard work!

    I may have to buy herbs to plant. My seedlings keep dying.

  2. Lisa! I am REALLY impressed that you tackled a project like this right after moving! Can’t wait to hear about the results.

  3. Good for you!! I should really be out planting something instead of reading blogs. 🙂

  4. It looks great! Just a hint… even with the marigolds, you will probably get aphids. I suggest getting some ladybug larvae right away and putting them on your peppers and tomatoes. Mine have been hardcore attacked and I’ve lost a few plants because I didn’t act soon enough!

    A natural “pesticide” I use is to boil 4 cups of water, then chop up the peel of a lemon or orange or two. Seep the chopped up peels in the hot water overnight. Strain the liquid and add a little bit of dish soap. Put it in a water bottle and spritz it on your plants in the morning before it gets too warm or sunny so they don’t burn. It killed all the aphids INSTANTLY and they haven’t been back (may kill the lady friends too though, so be careful with it). I wish I would have thought to do that right away instead of waiting a week when a bunch of my plants were dead. 😦

  5. WOW I am really impressed Lisa! The Gerber Daisy’s I planted two weeks ago all died! I think we have bad soil =( We are planning to put our backyard in this year and Ryan promised me a whole section to make my garden … eeek I am so excited! I am planning to plant some miniature fruit trees also … have you done that? I really want a mini apple tree =) Or have you seen the mini pear apple tree’s? I will need to bring in some better soil first though!

  6. lwuertz

    Yeah, I’d love to have like a mini lemon or orange tree!

Leave a Reply

