We love our veggies!

For just under $20, this is what I got in this week’s box:

1 huge head of lettuce
2 beets and their tops
1 bunch carrots with tops
1 bunch asparagus
2 huge grapefruit
6 Mandarin oranges
some fresh Majoram (smells so good!)
2 red spring onions
Enough spinach to fill a 1 gallon zip lock

Bean likes her veggies too. I bought these sometime during my last month of pregnancy. We just did a re-circulation of toys the other day and I pulled them out. I think it is fun that she gets a box of veggies just like Mama and Papa.

I’m really liking Abundant Harvest. I will admit that the first week I was pretty overwhelmed at the amount of stuff. I didn’t think we’d be able to use it all. I quickly learned how to plan my whole menu for the week around the vegetables and now we pretty much use it all (I still have a lingering sweet potato and a couple onions).

I love that we are trying new things too. We’re incorporating way more vegetables and fruit into our diet and I don’t feel like I’m stuck in a veggie rut either. Prior to Abundant Harvest the only vegetables we ate were lettuce, tomatoes, sometimes asparagus if it wasn’t too expensive, broccoli, carrots, bell peppers, potatoes, onions and peas.

And I don’t know if I would have ever considered making some carrot muffins, but I really needed to use up all the carrots I had! The result was so yummy.

Our grocery bill has not increased either (well if you don’t count the one time I went a little overboard at Whole Foods), but I think we’re actually getting more fruits and vegetables into our diet.

So anyway, yeah we love our veggies!

10 Comments

Filed under Family, Natural Living

10 responses to “We love our veggies!

  1. I love it, too!!! Makes me so happy. Yum.

  2. P.S. Will has those same fruits and veggies. They are so cute.

  3. What are you cooking this week, Lisa? I haven’t planned my menu yet. I keep thinking we need to have an Abundant Harvest yahoo group for sharing weekly menus and recipes!

  4. lwuertz

    That would be such a good idea!

    I haven’t really planned my menu yet either. I’m probably going to do it tomorrow. I have no idea what I’m going to do with those beets. Last time I had beets they tasted like dirt and I did not like them at all. 😦

    I did manage to use one carrot, one of my onions, half my spinach and all my asparagus in some really easy pasta primavera. So that was a big dent in it.

  5. Hi! I met you at Barbie’s bunco night although I’m sure I’m just a blur with all those other new faces you met that night! I too love abundant harvest. Your pics made me so bummed because I forgot to pick up my box today! My husband usually does but is out of town….Sad day! 😦

  6. Lisa, here’s how I prepare beets (first had them like this at Ruth and Eric’s):

    Scrub well
    Boil in salted water for 40 minutes or until fork-tender

    Cut off ends
    Slice
    Dress with olive oil, salt and red wine vinegar to taste

    I’m eating the beets from our box right now. They are so good. But really tiny (these ones did not take 40 minutes)! I hope we get some more in future boxes. I’m addicted.

  7. lwuertz

    Thanks. I’m actually thinking about getting some more from the grocery store and making the rich chocolate beet muffin recipe from the AH website. Mmmm chocolate.

  8. anna franey

    Yes on the Yahoo group! James and I picked up our first box on Saturday and need ideas on how to cook it all!

  9. lwuertz

    Well until the yahoo group starts, check out the AH website because they have a ton of recipes on there! 🙂

  10. OK, you are inspiring me to make regular use of my town’s summer farmer’s market! I looked into the AH but yuck, I’m not sure I’m willing to drive that far every week, haha.

Leave a Reply

