Adventures in DIY Cleaners Part 2: Soft Scrub

I loved the stainless steel appliances when we moved into our house for all of 5 minutes. And then they looked like crap. Fingerprints showed up everywhere and no matter what I used they came out streaky. I tried everything: those stainless steel wipes, Windex, all purpose cleaners, etc.

So I was pretty glad that the appliances in the apartment kitchen were not stainless steel. I still have our matching trash cans though. I figured that they are trash cans and not artwork so they can look a little gross.

Well, that all changed tonight.

I made up a batch of Tiffany’s soft scrub recipe and wow!

I used it on the countertops first and then decided to try it on the trash cans.


The left one is clean, the right one obviously isn’t.

It made the whole kitchen sparkle and smell like delicious peppermint.

Soft Scrub
Mix equal parts Dr. Bronner’s Liquid Castile soap and Borax. Use small dabs at a time with a damp sponge.

4 Comments

Filed under Homemade, Natural Living

4 responses to “Adventures in DIY Cleaners Part 2: Soft Scrub

  1. Wow, what a difference! I have never liked stainless steel appliances for that very reason, they look dirty and streaky all the time! I’ll have to remember this cleaner if I ever do have something stainless steel.

  2. lwuertz

    Sunny you can also use this stuff on your shower and any other surfaces that you would use the store bought Soft Scrub. But this stuff doesn’t have bleach and smells really nice.

  3. anna franey

    amen sister! she taught me that this weekend and its cleaned off make up stains i’ve had on our white bathroom counter for so long. the only thing i’ve found that actually works!

  4. Ohh I love liquid castile soap, we actually use it to hand wash our dishes too. We have the almond scent, which smells so yummy and amazing. Like almond poppyseed muffins. šŸ™‚

    Now I have another use for my Borax. I’ll have to try this for our sink. Usually I give in and use soft scrub just because ours is so old and stains so easily.

Leave a Reply

