Gourmet Lisa: A Southern meal, I think

So last night my menu plan called for this recipe. Except there were a few problems.

#1. I forgot to defrost the chicken.
#2. Trader Joe’s didn’t have any chorizo, plus I’m not really a fan.
#3. My brain wasn’t really up to the mental capacity required to follow a recipe.

So I decided to take Rachel Ray’s concept of mixing the kale in with the mashed potatoes and come up with my own recipe. I learned a few things along the way and came up with a revised recipe below that is a little different from what we actually had last night, but I’m sure it will probably be better. This recipe was great because it used up quite a bit of produce from our last two AH boxes.

Ingredients
• 1 pkg keilbasa, sliced into 1 inch pieces
• 2 strips bacon, cut into small chunks
• 1 shallot, peeled and sliced
• 1 bulb/head/stalk? of green garlic, finely diced
• olive oil
• splash of milk/cream
• couple handfuls of Parmesan cheese
• 1 bunch kale, stems removed and chopped
• 1 bunch chard, stems removed and chopped
• 4-5 Russet potatoes, peeled and chopped (we only had 3, but I think it would be better with more, see notes below)

Directions
Fry the keilbasa in a pan until cooked through. I usually do this on medium heat and I cover it so that I’m sure the sausage gets cooked all the way through. You could also grill it and then cut it up later if you want.

Meanwhile, bring a large stock pot of salted water to a boil. Add potatoes and boil until softened.

Also while the potatoes and sausage are cooking you want to add some olive oil to another pan. Add shallot, garlic and bacon. Cook until bacon is browned. Stir in kale and cook until softened (This is where I went wrong in the recipe last night. I added all the greens in at once and chard cooks much faster than kale). Add in the chard continue cooking until all greens are wilted and soft.

Drain potatoes and place in mixing bowl. Add greens mixture, milk/cream and cheese. Mix until well combined, potatoes are smooth and cheese is melted.

Serve with sausage.

Recipe notes
I thought this was pretty good, but I’m big on my veggies. Stephen said the potato to greens ratio was not right. He would have preferred more potatoes. He went through the whole pile searching for places where there was a large amount of just potatoes. So that is why in my recipe I upped the amount from 3 potatoes to 4-5. You may want to adjust the milk/cream and cheese ratio too depending on how much you like those ingredients. I think it could have probably used a little more cheese, but tasted fine the way it was and I didn’t want to push my husband’s lactose buttons. I thought the bacon added enough salt, but you might want to salt and pepper to taste as well. I thought the potatoes were better this afternoon for lunch because the kale wasn’t as crunchy. So definitely learn from my mistake on that and cook the kale a little first before adding in the chard.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gourmet Lisa, Homemade

Leave a Reply

