Week Forty One

I have had a trying couple of days around here. Bean has decided to test out this new defiant streak of hers, but sometimes I feel unsure about whether she’s truly being defiant or I don’t know what.

She has recently discovered a gap in the railing at the bottom of the stairs that she can fit through even though we have a gate across the actual opening of the stairs. So once again I am constantly on alert about the stairs and her climbing up them. I’ve received many suggestions that I should just teach her how to go up and down them. She’s pretty good at going up, unless of course she gets distracted midway. She is not good at going down at all. I’ve tried to show her, but she just doesn’t seem to get it. Until I feel comfortable that she can go up and down them without hurting herself though I just can’t let her have free reign of them.

Anyway, back to the defiant streak, or what I think is a defiant streak. So I remove her from the gap in the railing about 50 times a day. She does understand “ah-ah” and “no” and will stop doing something if I use those words with a corresponding vocal tone that says I mean business. I will say “ah-ah” or “no” when she gets close to looking like she is going to go up the stairs. She’ll turn around to look at me and stop in her tracks, but then a couple seconds later she is right back at it. Sometimes when I say “ah-ah” or “no” she turns around and looks at me lips scrunched up into kiss position, nose scrunched, brow furrowed and breathing very heavily in frustration through her nose. And I’m sure in that moment that if she could figure out how to fold her arms and stomp her foot for dramatic effect she totally would. I guess this is what raising little girls is like?

Anyway, we had a morning of this new ‘tude of hers and I was pretty worn down by it. I’m also just worn down in general lately because of the pregnancy and the fact that even though Bean hasn’t been waking up at 2 or 3am, I still do and can’t fall back asleep afterwards. So I’m usually going on about 4 or 5 hours of sleep. I need to figure out how to get my sleep cycle back in order. But I am thankful that she’s usually now only waking up at 4 or 5 and sometimes not even until 6 for her first feeding and she usually goes back to sleep after that for a few more hours. She’s been doing this for about a month now.

At some point in the morning, however, a switch flipped and Bean became all sweetness. I was laying on the floor and she started climbing on me, snuggling here and there and playing with my clothes and being really sweet. Then she started doing her new trick where she lets go and stands without holding on. I always make a big deal about this and she laughs so I think she was hoping for that.

And then even more sweetly she started giving me kisses. She’s been doing this awhile now, though her idea of giving you a kiss is to mash her face into you for a second and then pull away. If you ask for a kiss though this is what she does and she does seem to understand it. She was doing this to my shoulder without even being prompted. She loves it when I tell her “thank you” after a kiss and gets excited and does it some more. Then we did a little tickle fest and she took a nice long nap.

She is increasingly interested in books, which I absolutely love. Her favorites right now are the kind with touch and feel textures in them. She also likes to chew them. But she also likes to look at the pictures and hear us read them to her. She’ll also just pull one out to look at play with on her own.

Her top two teeth broke through this week to join the bottom two and there are a couple more, one on top and one on the bottom, that are getting really close.

Oh and thank you everyone for your suggestions and tips on the sippy cup issue. I mostly was just persistant and patient. The straw cup never did work out, she just didn’t get that one at all. Since she would drink from one of her starter sippy cups with my help, I kept giving her those and encouraging her to hold it up. She could only do it laying back though so I finally figured out that if I pulled out the Boppy and put her in that she would hold the sippy cup and drink from it all by herself. The only thing about her doing it herself though is that she often gets distracted and wants to play and then after a couple seconds of going off to do whatever it is that caught her attention she is frustrated because she’s still thirsty and wanting her drink. Then we have to start over with the laying back down and whatnot. But she is getting it and it is nice to be able to read a chapter from a book or do some knitting while she feeds herself.

6 Comments

Filed under Family, Parenting

6 responses to “Week Forty One

  1. GrandmaTiger

    Can you block the gap somehow so she CAN’T get through the stairs? I would think you could use some nylon zippy ties and a piece of plywood cut to size with holes drilled in the sides to fasten it to the banister uprights without leaving a mark/no permanent damage. Then you don’t have to deal with an attitude or an accident.

  2. Lisa, I babysat for a family when I was a teen that had something like this on their railings- http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000056OUX/ref=pd_lpo_k2_dp_sr_2?pf_rd_p=304485901&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B0000E2DIE&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=0SSASK8Y128JBGFNFK4W

    It was mesh like that one. I think it is recommended that you put it on the outside of the railing. There is also stuff more for decks but a person reviewed it and said they used it indoors. http://www.amazon.com/Roll-Shield-Outdoor-Safety-Netting/dp/B000H3PGTK/ref=sr_1_96?ie=UTF8&s=baby-products&qid=1247104332&sr=1-96
    That one is basically chicken wire. Do you think something like one of those products would work to keep her off the stairs? I hope you can find something that works and you don’t have to pull her off the staircase all day long! I feel for ya!

  3. There is also a clear plastic one like this- http://www.amazon.com/Clear-Banister-Guard-Kit-Roll/dp/B000H46GTS

    It could be something you could make on your own if you bought mesh fabric at a craft store, or plastic sheeting at a hardware store.

    I hope it at least gives you an idea for a solution! 🙂

  4. How are you teaching her to go down the stairs? It may help to teach her to back down them foot-first. In that case, if she “falls,” it’ll really just be sliding down on her belly. If you’ve tried that, you might be able to teach her to sit on them and scoot one at a time. It’ll take a little longer to get the “down” part figured out, but it’ll be worth it when you can stop having this battle of wills.

    Engaging in a battle of wills with a child under the age of reasoning (which I have identified as 4–despite what many people will tell you!) is just asking for trouble ;-)! Not that you should give into everything your under-four-year-old wants to do, for SURE, but ya know…choose your battles very, very carefully and do what you can to eliminate the stress points :-).

    I’m glad you had some sweetness today. S. has stopped sleeping well and has lost some of that super sweetness in the process. I can’t wait until I have my well-rested baby back.

    And WOW for standing up! S. still isn’t even pulling up. He just started really crawling last week! I finally realized that the delay is because the big boys just won’t let him alone long enough to figure the stuff out!!

  5. I love the pic of her sweet kisses! that is just too precious for words.

    (we got the same sippy for Princess Magpie!)

  6. Pingback: Week Forty Two « Daylight Rising

Leave a Reply

