And… another one!

I’ve been wanting to knit the Men’s Zipped Raglan from Last Minute Knitted Gifts for quite some time now. Basically, ever since I bought the book a couple years ago. I have to say that the main thing that attracted me to this pattern was the fact that it is knit in the round with minimal seaming. I hate seaming. Ugh!

However, the yarn called for is a tad on the expensive yarn snob side. It would have cost me a fortune to knit the sweater out of the yarn they used in the book. So I’ve been keeping my eye out for something that would be similar in coloring and weight. I finally spotted it at JoAnn’s of all places. They have this new line of yarns called “Debbie Mumm for JoAnn”. I’m not sure who Debbie Mumm is, but the yarn is pretty cool.

Anyway, finished product:


Stephen thinks he has a gut in this picture. Ummm… whatever.

Now that I’ve knit the thing, I’m honestly not sure how I feel about it.

Pattern: Men’s Zipped Raglan from Last Minute Knitted Gifts
Needles: US 8 Circs
Yarn: Debbie Mumm for JoAnn Traditions in Adirondack
Started: I think May
Completed: August 7, 2009
For: Not quite sure. I think the right indie kid with a cool hair cut and appropriately witty Urban Outfitters tee could pull it off. My husband doesn’t like it, the red zipper is “questionable”. So I am currently mulling over who it would make an appropriate gift for.

6 Comments

Filed under Craftopia

6 responses to “And… another one!

  1. Wow Lisa! These projects have turned out wonderfully! I love this! and I agree, there is definitely someone out there who would love it! Whoever you figure out to give it to will be glad 🙂

  2. I LOVE the red zipper and I think that sweater looks great on Stephen! That’s too bad that he doesn’t like it. I think it totally fts his “vibe”.

    You did a really nice job!

  3. Oh, I LOVE this! I love raglans, and hate seams, too. I keep promising to make Scott a sweater, but I’ve had the same problem — my yarn budget and nothing I like that’s not so expensive. What’s the fiber in that yarn?

  4. lwuertz

    I think it is acrylic with some wool. I threw the label away so I can’t look it up for you. You might try the JoAnn’s website though. 🙂

  5. Must. Get. Knitting. Or sewing, or something. You are making me look bad and I had lofty goals of christmas presents being done before the end of the summer. Ha!

    I personally love it, but I know my husband would HATE it! He’s not a sweater guy at all and I think he’d feel teacher-ish in it (or any sweater, for that matter).

    Debbie Mumm is a designer who’s fabric and kitchy knick-knacks were popular in the 90s. She’s akin to the Amy Butler of the early 90s, I guess. If you google her, you’ll see that her style is a lot of sunflowers and birdhouses in intense fall/winter colors.

  6. Hi Lisa,
    Just wanted to say that I still check in on your blog and I LOVE the sweater! Such talent.
    Hope all is well with the pregnancy.
    – Teri Beene Gaines

Leave a Reply

