My first FO of 2009

For those of you not in the “know” of the craft world, FO stands for “finished object”. And yes, despite all my crazy craft lady prowess, this is actually the very first one of 2009. I have started plenty of projects, but finishing anything did not happen until now.

So I got to Mammoth with all the good intention of actually finishing the knitting part of the boy blanket I had recently re-started. However, I also brought up two other projects I’ve been working on this year and the bird button sweater just struck my fancy once again. However…

Problem #1: I had been making up my own pattern for this sweater and did not document what the heck I was doing, which is normally fine because I have a fairly decent memory.

Problem #2: Insert pregnancy brain.

Problem #3: Entire body of sweater was done in seed stitch making it really hard to detect the exact pattern of decreases used on the armholes.

Problem #4: The sleeves have to have the same decrease pattern as the armholes on the body in order to fit together properly.

So. I ripped it. Again. For the fourth time. I frantically searched Ravelry for ideas and then I saw it. A pattern I’ve been wanting to knit since last year’s Tour de France/Tour de Fleece: Cherry. Every single finished version of this cardigan looked fantastic and that is important when choosing a knitting pattern. I got super inspired and cast on immediately.

Here are pictures and specs of my Cherry:


The entire finished product. Definitely looks better on someone than just hung up. But even though it was knit in my “normal” size, it definitely isn’t my pregnant size. So no modeling was possible. I did try it on, but I looked like a sausage.


Ribbon and button detail.


Stitch definition and button detail.

All pictures were taken with the new camera, but I’m still trying to figure it all out so definitely not my best work.

Pattern: Cherry by Anna Bella
Needles: US 2 and 5 circs
Yarn: Knit Picks Telemark 100% Peruvian Highland Wool (apparently Peruvian Highland sheep are a cross between cashmere sheep and some sheep that make really warm wool) in the color Fjord Heather.
Started: July 21, 2009 (if you don’t count all the other rips and restarts)
Completed: August 2, 2009 (that would be 12 days total)
For: Originally this was going to be for me. However, I’m pregnant and won’t be able to wear it for another year which with something this cute is just a crying shame. My friend Megan’s birthday is coming up and I decided that this would be perfect for her when it is sweltering in the Bakersfield heat, but 30 below in the newsroom. Now I just need to make it to the post office and get it shipped!

13 Comments

Filed under Craftopia

13 responses to “My first FO of 2009

  1. OH MY GOODNESS, so so so cute!!!! Lisa, you did an amazing job!! As always, I am so impressed.

    FYI… you can knit me a sweater like this anytime you want… just sayin’… πŸ˜‰ hehehe

  2. I love it! So cute. Where are the buttons from? Etsy?

  3. lwuertz

    Yes. Go to buttonsbyrobin.com if you want some!

  4. Alisha

    So cute! Love the little details like the buttons. Makes the whole thing I think. πŸ™‚

  5. Ruth

    That is adorable!!!!!!!

  6. Wow this is amazing and so adorable!! Great job, Lisa!!

  7. So sweet of you to make that for me! Heehe, oops, wrong Megan! Talent, patience, and REALLY good taste combined!

  8. It’s so cute! When I was at your house the other day I saw it and was really tempted to try it on. Haha! It’s beautful.

  9. That is SUPER cute!!!

  10. That is gorgeous! And you are one quick knitter! What’s your Ravelry name? I’m crunchymama.

  11. lwuertz

    I’m lwuertz. πŸ™‚

  12. Oh my! That is the cutest sweater of ALL TIME! Love it! Love the color, the ribbon! And the buttons! It is just perfect!

  13. Pingback: Hood. « Daylight Rising

Leave a Reply

