20 weeks (give or take)

So even though I’m still in my pajamas and might actually stay that way today (it’s my birthday, I’m allowed), I figured I couldn’t let another week go by without documenting this pregnancy at least a little.

A few pictures from this morning:

Few things…

I don’t know how my tummy and this baby are growing considering I’ve only gained one pound (net). But they are. Neither my midwife or my OB are worried about it. But I still can’t help wondering where the heck that tummy comes from. It’s got to weigh something, right?

Umm, my hair. Does anyone else out there feel like their hair COMPLETELY morphs when they are pregnant? I mean yes, there is the more/thicker phenomenon that is usually attributed prenatal vitamins, but I honestly haven’t been that great about taking them and I am still experiencing it so I don’t really know if the vitamins are what causes it. What I’m talking about though is completely different texture and volume. I now have tons of random little hairs I find in my head that are so kinked up that you would swear that it isn’t possible for them to grow from my head. It is completely frizzy and poofy, but still oily and flat by the end of the day. I always blow dry my hair after a shower which makes it stay pretty straight, but now when I do that it really doesn’t seem to help. An hour later my hair is wavy in some parts (especially by the nape of my neck) and straight in others (like on top). So yesterday I tried to scrunch it with product and not fight the wave/curl, but I really hate my hair feeling all crunchy and weighed down by tons of product. Plus, a few hours later I still had the same partially straight/curly/wavey thing going on and it still looked bad. I just don’t know what to do with it. Spending tons of time in front of a mirror with a straightening iron just isn’t practical for me and I really don’t want to fry my hair that much anyway. If you have easy beauty secrets to share, please do so.

The boy thing. Honestly, I’m over it. I was over it the next day when I saw my doctor. I was definitely over it Saturday night when we walked through the mall and window shopped boy clothes. Besides, when you read stuff like this, it really puts things into perspective. A healthy baby is all that really matters, right?

So yeah, saw my doctor again the day after the ultrasound and seriously again I have to just praise how cool and laid back he is! Still nothing was said about the midwife homebirth thing. I brought up some things from my last appointment with our midwife and he talked about them with me completely cool and calm just like he was would when working with any other medical professional. I can’t tell you how many times my other OB full on sneered when I brought up something my midwife said during Bean’s pregnancy.

The main thing we talked about was hyperthyroidism again. At my last blood draw that my midwife did, my TSH levels were a little on the abnormal side. She said that when she looked into it that basically since I’m not experiencing any symptoms of hyperthyroidism that it is up to me whether I want to go on medication for it and whether the risks of the medication really outweight the benefits of it. Last time around my OB just said I really need to be put on medication and didn’t give me much insight or options into it. Well, if you’ve read this blog for long you know that after giving birth I found out that the medication I was on could cause Bean to have hypothyroidism. She had to get her blood drawn once a month for the first six months of her life and she is supposed to get subsequent screenings for it every single year for the rest of her life. Looking back, I don’t know that the medication really did all that much for me last pregnancy and if I had known about the blood draws for Bean I probably wouldn’t have taken it.

So anyway, I gave my doctor copies of my labs and we talked about what my midwife said and the results.

“Well your results aren’t really that glaring to me. Actually your T3 and T4 levels, which are more active and a better indicator have gone down since the first blood draw she did. So that is really encouraging for me. Experiencing the amount of nausea, vomiting and weight loss that you did can really mess with your thyroid levels. Were you still feeling sick at this last draw?”

“Yes.”

“OK. Well then that could be the reason for the levels on here. I think we should redraw in two weeks and see where you are at. Since you are feeling much better they might be back to normal. You don’t feel hot or like your heart is racing? I mean other than how this heat can induce?”

“No, I don’t have any symptoms like that. It’s funny, I’ve completely adjusted to the weather here after only a few months. My friends in Bakersfield are so excited this week that it is cooled off there in the 80s and I’m over here complaining about it.”

“Yeah, this heat can make anyone feel like they have hyperthyroidism. Anyway, like I said your levels really aren’t that glaring to me. I’ll check with an endocrinologist and see what they have to say, but I don’t think you need to go on medication and I completely understand your concerns about not wanting to subject your new baby to blood draws. I’m sure that is not fun.”

With regards to the ultrasound and screening test…

“Well I talked to the perinatologist this morning and he said there were no markers for Downs Syndrome and that the baby is measuring behind what your LMP says it should be.”

“Right. Just like I thought because I have longer cycles and ovulate later than most women.”

“But he said everything looks good. Now, since the measuring dates are so far off what we could do is contact the state and ask them to recalculate your numbers based on the dates of the new measurements. I don’t know if they’d actually do that though. Or we could redraw and send them off again. But honestly if he says there are no markers I’m comfortable with that and don’t see any reason to act if you are not concerned.”

“I’m not concerned and I’m really not interested in participating in another test with them.”

“Yeah, I think that is a good decision. The ultrasound and your history give us no reasons for concern.”

7 Comments

Filed under Family, Pregnancy and Birth

7 responses to “20 weeks (give or take)

  1. Well that’s awesome! He’s going to be one healthy, sweet, handsome little guy. I can’t wait!

    Happy birthday!!! I hope you’re able to relax a little and enjoy it. 🙂

  2. Ruth

    I am having the same hair problems. Haha. I think that the little hairs sticking up is due to new hair growing back after your pregnancy with Bean, sometimes in the first few months post partum you lose some hair and then it eventually grows back in, but sticks straight up at first.

    My hair also became more wiry and I am still getting those random kinky hairs. Hate to tell you this, but every year I get more and more of them. My hairdresser once told me they are “pre-gray” hairs – they have changed texture but haven’t lost pigment yet. Just great.

    I have a good hair serum that I put in after I wash my hair and I always blowdry at least my bangs and my roots, and brush it smooth while I’m drying it. It does a decent job of smoothing out the strays that want to stick straight up. I do sometimes use a flat iron as well, I just straighten out the worst parts, it usually takes me 2 or 3 minutes.

    I’m scared to think what my hair will be like 5 years from now.

  3. Paula

    i love the second picture with bean’s face squashed against your belly!

  4. Happy Birthday! Lee O. apparently had straight hair before kids!!

  5. GrandmaTiger

    Now you know why I gave up and have had mine in a ponytail for the last twenty-six years (LOL)

  6. My hair goes crazy while I am pregnant and for the first 4 months after! Erg, such a bug! Happy birthday!

  7. My hair is awful when I am pg. I have no idea what to do with it at all.

Leave a Reply

