The new camera, the good and the bad…

Alright so this post is going to take the place of Eye Candy Friday for this week. I wanted to talk about my new camera.

A few months ago my dad let me go onto his commission points redemption site and pick out a new camera for my birthday because I had been complaining about how much I hated our Canon Powershot G5, specifically the lag time on it. Eventually it stopped being on backorder and it arrived at my door the week before my birthday.

After a lot of great input from all my photog friends I decided on the Canon Rebel XSi. It came with an 18-55mm lense with a built in image stabilizer.

So here is what I think about it after using it a couple weeks…

Things I like:
-No lag time. The shutter speed is really fast too. So great, especially when trying to photograph an on-the-go baby girl.
-The auto settings on here really annoy me. Which is kind of good because it is forcing me to learn how to do things manually and that will make me a better photographer in the long run.
-The color and crispness of the photos it takes is WAY better.
-I love being able to adjust my zoom with my hand on the lens body, instead of using a little toggle. I just find this to be so much more intuitive.
-Because I went from a Canon to another Canon a lot of stuff is the same.

Things I miss from the old camera:
-The easy to locate and adjust flash on/off button. On all the XSi’s auto settings you aren’t even allowed to turn off the flash (one of the things that annoys me about those settings). To do it in the other modes it is a bit of a more complicated process which involves going into the menu and finding the off place. I do not like this. On the PowerShot there was just a little button that you could push to turn the flash to always on, auto on, or off. I have never been a big fan of the flash because it always makes my pictures look overexposed. I like using natural light much better so having a complicated process to turn off the flash is a bit annoying.
-No video. I knew this before I bought it, but I still miss the ability to capture little videos. Guess we’re just going to have to get a little video camera now. 🙂

Anyway, thanks, Dad, for the camera. It is definitely an improvement over our last one.

4 Comments

Filed under Reviews

4 responses to “The new camera, the good and the bad…

  1. Oh I LOVE your camera! I want one too!

  2. GrandmaTiger

    So why not use the old camera for the videos?
    Keep the old one handy for little quik shots where you just want to grab it and snap, use the new one for more involved things?

  3. That is the same one that I have. I absolutely LOVE it, but there is still so much I need to learn about it. I know once I really learn how to use it I will love it even more =)

  4. Paula

    get a flip!

Leave a Reply

