Sick and tired of being sick and tired

Last friday after Bean had a pediatrician appointment where she got three vaccines (HIB, Pc and Flu), she developed a fever. It wasn’t much. She was still pretty happy and alert all the way through Sunday night. When the fever seemed like it was bothering her I’d give her some Motrin (she doesn’t ever seem to respond to Tylenol).

Sunday night she was up about a bazillion times. All day Monday she just flopped on the floor or wanted to cuddle with me. She was really cranky, had no appetite and the fever wouldn’t go away. About 4:30pm I was worried because she hadn’t wanted anything to eat or drink since lunch, not even to nurse which is NOT at all like her. So I called the pediatrician’s office.

I was basically told that these are standard reactions to the vaccines and to keep doing what I was doing. They did give me an appointment for first thing the next morning though.

I tried a lukewarm bath to bring her fever down. She protested. Very loudly.

Then she puked on me. After that she was totally alert and chipper for about 15 minutes before crashing out again in my arms. She woke up again around 9pm and Stephen stayed up with her to let her play until she was tired again. By the next morning she seemed perfectly fine. The fever had broken. Her appetite was back and she was her cheery self.

So I called and cancelled the appointment deciding that I was being far too big of a worry wort and also because I didn’t want her exposed to actual sick children and have to go through more of this.

By the afternoon though she was all cranky again, laying on the floor and wanting to cuddle. She just wasn’t herself. Her fever was back so I gave her some Motrin.

It’s been like this all week. I think she’s doing great and better then she is fussy and tired and has no appetite again.

So on top of matters I’m afraid of her losing weight from being sick because at that appointment we were told that she’s now way low on the growth charts when she’s been average or above average up until now. Aside from a tiny bit of yogurt and some Cheerios the most I can get into her is diluted juice and milk.

Then today I started feeling kind of yucky too so I’m wondering if maybe she had a bug and it wasn’t a reaction to the vaccines afterall. But then tonight I felt fine so I don’t know what to think. Maybe I’m just being a hypochondriac or it is a combination of lack of sleep from getting up several times a night with her and my being pregnant.

Anyway, it’s been a long week and it isn’t even over yet. Oh and tomorrow I get to do that lovely glucola third trimester gestational diabetes screening which I’ve adequately prepared for by eating my body weight in sugar tonight. OK, not really, but pretty close. Blah! Speaking of sick and tired, it is 10pm which means I better haul myself off to bed.

7 Comments

Filed under Family, Parenting

7 responses to “Sick and tired of being sick and tired

  1. grandmatiger

    Usually if there’s some bug lurking in the system, vaccines tend to make it pop out. You were probably both already exposed to something before the shots, fighting it off,but the shots brought it out in Bean and the stress helped bring it on for you. Just try to ride it out, once she’s better she’ll catch up on her weight. You girls were always slightly low on the growth charts, the only time it got too bad was with Bear. Good luck with the gest. diabetes thing, even if the reading comes back off I wouldn’t worry too much if you don’t have any symptoms.

  2. So sorry to hear your little one is sick! It is so hard when our LO are sick! I hate it…absolutely hate it. Only thing that tops it is when you and your LO is sick.

    Hope she gets to feeling better soon and you as well!

  3. Ruth

    Lisa, what are the standard reaction times to the vaccines she got? Maybe it’s more than one causing the problem and the reactions are overlapping and that’s why it’s so prolonged. I think the longest fever/malaise either of the girls had from a vaccine was 4 days (with the MMR) and the other few fevers they got were gone within 24-48 hours. So a full week of this seems like a long time to me. I’m so sorry you are dealing with this, I hope you don’t get sick and that Jilly is better very soon.

    The only other thing I can think of is to start diluting her juice with pedialite to make sure she’s not getting dehydrated if she isn’t wanting to nurse as much, and just let her eat whatever she wants (even if it’s just cheerios all day) until she is better. 😦

  4. lwuertz

    Yeah, I’m not sure how long the reaction times are on each of the vaccines. My vaccine book just says for standard reactions contact your doctor if it is longer than two days. Which I did and she told me that this was normal, give her Tylenol/Motrin, push the fluids. Bleh.

    The good thing is that she is at least back into liquids and she’ll eat some Cheerios. I can get her to nurse too which has sort of thrown the whole weaning schedule out the window, but if it makes her feel better, gets her protein, antibodies, etc. then it’s worth it. It’s not like I had a strict timetable or anything.

    I also found out that the stuff Morgan recommended is safe for babies so I gave her a dose of that today in with one of her sippies of juice just in case it is the flu. I feel fine again today though so I don’t know if that theory holds much weight.

    I just want my baby back to herself. The cranky, flop on the floor and liquid diet thing is starting to wear on me!

  5. lwuertz

    I think you may be on to something though with the overlapping theory. I’m starting to think that her initial reaction with the very low fever that didn’t bother her was probably the vaccine reaction and then when she really started feeling yucky on Sunday night that was probably from something she was either exposed to at the mall play area last Thursday or at the pediatrician’s office. She’s still been somewhat cranky this morning, but she is doing better. Her appetite is slowly returning.

  6. Pingback: One of those crazy moms « Daylight Rising

  7. Pingback: The allergy journey begins. « Daylight Rising

Leave a Reply

