Pumpkin Pancakes

Every year about this time, IHOP has pumpkin pancakes on their menu, but I don’t know about you, I’m just not into being overcharged for a plate of grease. I’d much rather have my kitchen filled with the smells of Autumn loveliness and be able to have some say over what ingredients go into my food.

I decided this morning when I woke up that I really wanted some pumpkin pancakes. I searched online for recipes, but only came up with really decadent things requiring eggs beaten to stiff peaks or soufflé. Nine on a Saturday morning, especially a Saturday morning followed by a week of dealing with a sick child, is not the time I want to practice my soufflé making or whip up something complicated. Maybe that makes me less gourmet, but I think I’m probably just like most other moms out there on this one.

So I improvised. I really like Trader Joe’s Multigrain Baking and Pancake Mix. However, if you are used to Bisquick, these pancakes definitely come out quite a bit more dense. To offset that, I usually water down their pancake batter recipe with extra milk until the batter reaches a consistency that is more like Bisquick pancake batter. So this time instead of adding extra milk, I added a can of pumpkin pie mix. It was perfect!

Pumpkin Pancakes
Ingredients
• 2 cups Trader Joe’s Multigrain Baking Mix
• 1 cup milk
• 2 eggs
• 1 can organic pumpkin pie mix

Directions
Whisk together ingredients until mostly smooth. There will be some small lumps, but you don’t want to over mix the batter or your pancakes won’t be fluffly.

Pour about 1/4 cup per pancake onto a lightly greased and preheated griddle. Cook until golden brown on each side.

Dress with syrup or whipped cream or whatever it is you usually put on your pancakes.

3 Comments

Filed under Gourmet Lisa

3 responses to “Pumpkin Pancakes

  1. grandmatiger

    If you want the pancakes to be fluffier, get out your electric mixer and whip the eggs first, until they turn a bright lemony yellow, then gently add in the other ingredients. Whipping puts air into the eggs and they will hold onto it after you add the other ingredients until cooking, as long as you don’t over-mix.

  2. Oh they sound delish!! I am looking for a recipe for banana pancakes!

  3. lwuertz

    You could probably just substitute mashed bananas for the pumpkin. 🙂

Leave a Reply

