One of those crazy moms

I’ve had Jenny McCarthy’s book, Mother Warriors on my bookshelf since last Christmas. It was a present from my sister, Andrea.

I started it today and I’m about 1/3 of the way through. I’m wading through the Hollywood crap, the therapist and weird spiritual beliefs, like praying to other people’s guardian angels. I keep leveling with myself that this woman is not a scientist or a doctor, she’s an actress/comedian.

But it is really hard to ignore what she and the other moms in her book have to say about their children and vaccines in light of last week.

It started yesterday, but really became obvious today: I have my daughter back. A week and 2-3 days later.

Today she didn’t refuse to eat. She has been “talking” nonstop. Pointing to every object in the house asking, “dis?” and wanting me to tell her what it is. She hasn’t flopped on the floor at all. She giggles when I give her kisses. She’s alert and playful. Her smile is ridiculously cute and huge over every little thing. She is so interactive!

It would be one thing if she just had a fever for a couple days last week. But even after the fever subsided and the “sick” symptoms went away, Bean just wasn’t herself. She didn’t talk. She zoned out. She didn’t want to play with her toys. I feel like I don’t know how to explain it and then again I do.

I’ve always felt like the benefits of vaccines in protecting our society against disease outweigh the “standard” side effects. Did I want to minimize those side effects as much as possible? Of course. That’s why we were going with a much less accelerated vaccine schedule than what the American Academy of Pediatrics recommends.

But now I am finding myself questioning the value of injecting our children and ourselves with toxins and diseases. And whether a breastfed baby growing up in the United States where these diseases are almost obsolete that I’m probably going to homeschool really needs them.

And if I do make this decision, I’m trying to figure out how I can muster the courage to not back down at the next pediatrician’s appointment. To not find myself frazzled once again and fumbling over what I think is best for Bean.

I don’t know. I guess I’m just becoming one of those crazy moms.

9 Comments

Filed under Family, Natural Living, Parenting, Ramblings

9 responses to “One of those crazy moms

  1. grandmatiger

    Maybe spread the vaccines out even more? Only get 1 dose of 1 germ at a time?

  2. Kourtni

    I think about this a lot too. I don’t know how I really feel about it… much less what others should do. I do know that the reason we don’t have some of those terrible TERRIBLE diseases anymore is because of vaccinations. I also know that my kids were also wiped out and sick after they got their shots.. sometimes also for days. Best of luck with your decision making!! And don’t let anyone bully you. You know what’s best for your children.

  3. The best thing I have read on the subject is The Vaccine Book by Dr. Sears. Almost everything I have read either makes you out to be a horrible mother if you DO vaccinate or if you DON’T vaccinate. This book is very clear about what is in each vaccine, how common the disease is, what the potential side effects are etc. I felt empowered after reading it to make choices regarding each individual vaccination rather than the massive huge confusion I’d felt before.

  4. lwuertz

    Thanks Emily. I have that book and I’ve read it. I really liked it for all the reasons you described. I think I might reread it again because it is a lot of information to process.

  5. crystal

    Monkey was doing this weird twitchy thing for a few days after her last round. I’m really struggling with getting the next set. Why is being a mom so hard?

  6. Yikes I hate having to make decisions like this!? There are two totally different sides of me prompting me to make two totally different decisions. There is no “right answer” you just have to do what you feel most comfortable with.

  7. Ruth

    It is really hard. 😦 I am SO glad that my girls are past all of their vaccines for a while.

    I’m so glad she is back to normal!!

  8. Liz

    I’ve become one of those crazy moms, so you aren’t alone. 🙂 Both of my boys have had allergic reactions to shots so that was enough for us to stop completely. We are homeschooling as well. Actually our oldest just started.

  9. Paula

    dont get shots! i support you.

Leave a Reply

