The best oatmeal ever.

Last night Ruth and I were IMing. Between the many random topics including flu shots, my husband’s new addiction to the Harry Potter series, yogurt making and pumpkin soup, we both said we had discovered the best way to make oatmeal. So this morning, I combined both techniques and I really do believe we have the best oatmeal ever. If you want a nice warm bowl of oatmeal tomorrow morning, do yourself a favor and skip the instant brown sugar and cinnamon with raisins and make some of this.

Ingredients
• 6 cups water
• 2 cups steel cut or Irish style oats
• 12oz vanilla yogurt
• 1 jar Trader Joe’s peach halves in white grape juice, diced (or fruit of your choice, I really think diced apples or pears sautéed in a little butter, brown sugar and cinnamon would also be lovely and I’m sure the old standby of raisins wouldn’t be too bad either)
• 1/2 tsp cinnamon
• salt
 
Directions
In a large bowl combine 3 cups warm water, 2 tbsp of the yogurt and oats. Soak overnight (I actually just soaked it a few hours and this was lunch, but Ruth did it overnight). Why soak it, you ask? Ruth says that when you do this the oatmeal releases enzymes which are good for you. It also gets nice and soft and creamy.

In the morning, boil 3 cups salted water. Transfer oats mixture to the pot of boiling water and cook over medium heat until liquid is gone and you have a thick cereal.

Remove from heat. Stir in cinnamon, fruit and remaining yogurt.

As you can see from the pictures, this makes a family sized portion (or in my case several ice cube trays worth of baby food to freeze for days when I don’t feel like soaking oats and all that).

How good is this oatmeal? Well, Bean ate a whole adult sized portion in about 2 minutes flat. Like I said, it is the best oatmeal ever.

6 Comments

Filed under Gourmet Lisa

6 responses to “The best oatmeal ever.

  1. Ruth

    Yum! I’ll have to try your version! I made another version this morning, starting with the oats soaked in water and yogurt again, but this time adding some unsweetened coconut, almond slivers, and cinnamon. Let those soak all night, then when you cook it in the morning throw in some raisins. Serve with a little butter or milk and some honey. This was sooooo good!

    Oh, and I discovered something awesome to do with the leftovers! Put them in the fridge, and later when they are cold and solidified, melt some butter in a pan and fry some of the oatmeal chunks in the butter. It’s just like oatmeal cookies but without any sugar. Soooooo delicious. Not sure if this would work with the amount of yogurt you put in or not…..

  2. Morgan

    Yum, that does look good! I’ll have to try that out. I have a really good oatmeal receipe too…I’ll have to pass that on ya’ll’s way (ya’ll’s?).

  3. Kourtni

    I loooooooove oatmeal and steel cut is the best. I’m so going to try this. As a matter of fact, I think I’ll head over to Trader Joes whilst my big kids are at AWANA. Thanks for the recipe!

  4. grandmatiger

    Sounds yummy all the way around; just remember no HONEY till a baby is over 1 year of age – so Bean is old enough – because of botulism. I think even adults could make up a batch of this on a weekend or day off, freeze single-servings in a ziploc bag or tupperware bowl and have during the week. I eat a lot of oatmeal b/c of its cholesterol lowering effects.

  5. Wow, this does look amazing! Do you soak the oats on the counter or in the fridge?

  6. lwuertz

    On the counter.

Leave a Reply

