Dark and twisties…

This weekend pretty much our whole family is at Disneyland celebrating this little lady’s birthday. We are not there. Why? Because I’m pregnant, we have colds, pregnancy and giving birth is expensive (even when you do it the cheap way with a midwife at home), and Stephen thinks Bean might freak out like she does when a certain dancing hamster does its thing.

I’m still quite bummed about the whole ordeal, actually, and trying to come to terms with the fact that this was probably my one last chance to get out of the house and do something big and fun for at least the next six months and we didn’t do it.

Instead, Stephen took long naps, Bean made a mess of the livingroom and I did some knitting. Basically, this weekend ranks right up there with Mother’s Day 2009 as one of the real low points of the year.

Appropriately enough, my project was also quite boring. I didn’t take the advice of other knitters that have attempted it and thought the point of interest that really makes this sweater would be enough to keep me going. But oh, all that stocking stitch. And this thing is knit in the round too so it was even less exciting.

Pattern: Gathered Pullover by Hana Jason from Interweave Knits Winter 2007 issue
Yarn: 9 skeins Knit Picks Telemark in Cilantro Heather (I’m not sure the color name is appropriate, the only cilantro I’ve ever seen this shade of green has been rotting)
Needles: US 6 Bamboo circs and DPNs
Made For: Will probably wind up being another Christmas gift, but I might keep it for myself too. Not sure.
Size: 36″ bust
Modifications: I’m not a fan of the rolled hem, so instead I did a 1×1 rib for 2.5″ at the sleeve cuffs and bottom of the sweater, and I did it for 4 rows around the neck.
Started: October 17, 2009
Completed: October 24, 2009

Leave a comment

Filed under Craftopia

Leave a Reply

