Not so dark and twisty.

A friend is having a baby girl and I wanted to make something. I did not want to buy more yarn though. So I’m pretty happy with the fact that I was able to do this entire project without spending any money. I used scrap yarn leftover from other projects, but it turned out really cute!

Pattern: Garter Stitch Wrap Top by Erika Knight from Simple Knits for Cherished Babies. For the embroidery motif, I used another Erika Knight design, this one from the Short Sleeved Sweater in her Simple Knits for Little Cherubs book.
Yarn: Less than one skein Sirdar Snuggly DK in Lilac (LOVE this yarn! it is so, so, so soft and definitely does not feel like acrylic at all), less than one skein Sirdar Snuggly Baby Bamboo DK in Willow and remnants of Knit Picks Telemark in Cilantro Heather and Sirdar Snuggly DK in Clover for the embroidery.
Needles: US 2 bamboo straights
Size: 0-3 months
Made for: Baby girl Miller
Modifications: I accidentally ran out of the lilac yarn before I could do the other side of the wrap top so I did the other side in the light green color. So, because of the random one side of green I decided to add in the embroidery motif to tie it all in together. I was sort of afraid it wouldn’t look good, but I think I like it better this way than a single solid color.
Started: October 24, 2009
Completed: October 25, 2009

3 Comments

Filed under Craftopia

3 responses to “Not so dark and twisty.

  1. um..you toally need to start an etsy store, seriously.

  2. Ooh, I love the colors and the embroidery! I saw a similar wrap sweater pattern in garter stitch, but it goes side to side — so cute!

  3. This is BEAUTIFUL, Lisa!! I just love how pretty and sweet and soft it is. I especially adore the little flowers you embroidered. I think I want to have another baby just so you can knit me something 😉

Leave a Reply

