Little tweed coat

I don’t know how many of you have little boys or have tried shopping for little boys, but they get jacked when it comes to the clothes.

First, in the clothing stores their section is usually disproportionately smaller compared to the little girls section. Then, a lot of the stuff is just, well, blah.

Bean does not need any clothing. She is generously supplied by doting aunts and TONS of cute hand-me-downs from her cousins. However, I cannot help but gravitate towards the girls section of the stores because I just have a hard time getting into most of the stuff for boys.

As such, I have not yet bought a single thing for Sprout. He has no clothes people.

A few weeks ago I bought some chunky tweed yarn because I wanted to make some convertable man mitts out of them (fingerless gloves that have a flap that converts them to a mitten). I made one and it was UGLY! So then I had these two balls of chunky yarn and no ideas.

The nice thing about knitting for babies is that their clothes don’t require much yarn. When I was flipping through my baby knits books to decide on a project for my friend, I also spotted the perfect thing to knit up that tweed yarn into…

Pattern: Chunky Knit Cardigan from Simple Knits for Cherished Babies by Erika Knight
Yarn: Less than two skeins Patons Shetland Chunky Tweeds in Earthy Brown
Needles: US 6 and 7 bamboo straights and US 6 bamboo circ
Size: 0-3 months
Made for: Sprout
Modifications: None
Started: October 25, 2009
Completed: October 27, 2009

I am really loving these designs by Erika Knight. They are so simple and classic. The other thing I like about her stuff is that the sizing seems really right on. I wish I’d had these books when I was pregnant with Bean because a lot of the other patterns I knit up for her are STILL too big and were way off on the sizing.

So anyway, my knitting frenzy continues… I’m sure I’ll have something new to share on here in the next week or so.

7 Comments

Filed under Craftopia, Family, Homemade

7 responses to “Little tweed coat

  1. Okay, funny story. I was in the middle of making your oatmeal and I decided I should check your blog to make sure I didn’t forget anything. I ran back here, jumped on your blog ready to scroll down to the oatmeal, and WHAM! This adorble sweater takes me by surprise. I thought, “No! I need to focus on the oatmeal!” So I checked that, made it, am eating it (it’s very good) and am now doting on your adorable sweater. Great job Lisa!

    And in other news, last night Amy and I were talking about what to get you, and we decided you probably had everything but clothes, so we would just get that. Ha. 🙂

  2. It is so nice! The only complaint I have is that I can’t click on the picture and enlarge it. I want to see it up close and check out the details and tweed flecks. 🙂 Your little man is going to look so handsome in it. I’m glad you found a book that has proper sizes, I know you were frustrated in the past with items that were much bigger than they said it would be.

  3. lwuertz

    Sunny, I was thinking the same thing actually. I just put another picture on here that is a closeup of the buttons and the stitching. It’s a little washed out, but it isn’t so far away like the last one. 🙂

  4. Liz

    That’s really cute. I have to disagree about the boys clothes thing. I have two boys and I love shopping for them! I actually have a terrible time shopping for my nieces. I’m not a fan of pink. And now that my boys are bigger I get to dress them alike. So much fun!

  5. Oooh, yay, I am glad you took another picture! 🙂 Thanks!

  6. Ruth

    Super cute!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

