A proper update

So I realized that I have been great about documenting all my knitting adventures lately, but not so great about documenting Bean and this pregnancy. The last time I did anything close to a real update was about a month ago when I talked about the learning adventures of Bean. So I’m well overdue, I’d say.

I guess I will start off back at the learning adventures, as it seems like as good a place as any. We’re still trying to make learning a daily part of our lives in a natural way.


Reading with her Papa just before heading out to a Halloween party we attended.

However, I’ve completely cut the DVD portion of the Your Baby Can Read! system out. When all the stuff about the Baby Einsteins videos came out I decided that Bean did not need to be watching TV, even TV specifically designed for babies, yet. Actually, the DVD part of the system is what bugged me the most anyway and that is what I was talking about when I said I was not willing to follow his strict plan for learning.

His suggestion is that you watch the DVD for the unit you are on twice a day. You are also supposed to move on to the next unit once a month and once you move on to a new unit you are still supposed to watch the DVDs from the previous units three times a week. So you figure that by the time you get to the end of the five or six DVD system your kid is basically going to be watching TV a majority of the day. I think this is ridiculous.

Besides, Bean is a very inquisitive and alert little girl. She wants to learn about the world around her. She is constantly asking what stuff is. She loves music and particularly likes it when we sing songs with hand motions in them like The Itsy Bitsy Spider. I really don’t think I have anything to worry about as far as her ability to learn. And besides, she’s ONE.

Bean has become a full-time walker. It has been so nice because now I don’t have to carry her everywhere anymore which is admittedly getting harder and harder to do as the pregnancy wears on. She can climb the stairs and will follow me around the house or walk somewhere holding my hand.

I completely weaned her on November 1. It wasn’t something I was really planning on. Actually, the biting issues had completely stopped (finally!) and I was pretty much fine with continuing to nurse her before naps and at bedtime. Plus, everytime that I thought I was going to do it she’d get a cold or had a reaction to vaccines or something and I felt like I needed to continue so she could get antibodies and stuff.

About a week or so before I weaned her I had started getting really uncomfortable Braxton Hicks during every nursing session that would last for several hours afterwards. So I started to think that I really should reconsider weaning her because I didn’t want nursing to send me into premature labor or something. I was still feeling really torn about the whole thing though because I knew she just wasn’t ready to stop. She was always coming up to me and tugging on my shirt. I guess my philosophy is more along the lines of child-led weaning in some ways.

Well, on the afternoon of November 1 I nursed Bean as usual before her nap and she basically treated me like a jungle gym the entire time. She was even upside down at one point. It was pretty ridiculous. That combined with some contractions afterwards had me frustrated. I came downstairs and told Stephen that I was done. However, in the back of my mind I wasn’t sure if this was really going to be the case. I’ve said that many times and then not actually quit. Well anyway, the rest of the day she didn’t ask to nurse. I gave her some regular milk before bed that night and she didn’t ask to nurse again. The next day came and she didn’t ask to nurse at all. It’s been like that ever since. So I guess she was just done like me. I’m really glad that this is the way it went and I didn’t have to make it happen because I’m not sure I would have been up for it.

On a related note, we’ve been having some food issues around here. Today Bean once again proved that she’s willing to eat pretty much anything so long as it is in a restaurant. She shared chicken nachos from Baja Fresh with me and ate quite a huge portion of them. If I try to make the same thing at home, she picks at it. Same goes for anything from orange chicken to broccoli to pasta, etc. At home she’s just incredibly picky and I can hardly get her to eat. It is very frustrating. Some days I/we go out to eat for lunch or dinner just so I know that she’ll get something to eat besides grains (cereal, bread, oatmeal, or crackers), dairy (yogurt or milk mostly and cheese only in the form of a quesadilla) and fruit. I thought I had solved this problem by eliminating Cheerios from her diet and while that did seem to make things a little better and get her to try a few new items, the problem still seems to persist. I’ve tried the “toddler boat” idea (an ice cube tray or muffin tin filled with various items for them to graze on all day) from Dr. Sears, spoon feeding jar food (works sometimes), and a whole host of other things. At her last doctor’s appointment Bean was anemic and her pediatrician said I need her to eat leafy greens and red meat. I have not been successful at all in this. Any suggestions from parents of other picky eaters would be welcome.

She’s also teething yet again. A couple of bottom teeth are coming in. She’s been a bit of a bear to deal with some days. She is also chewing on everything. I’ve actually had to take her books and other cardboard type toys (some blocks and a couple other items) out of the toy box only to be looked at and read with our active supervision because she was eating them so much. I feel like a bit of a bad mom because of this since she loves her books so much, but the amount of cardboard consumption was getting ridiculous.


Chewing on her crib to alleviate the teething pain.


You can see the damage from her chewing just above her hand on the right side of the picture.

As far as pregnancy, depending on which due date calculation you use I am somewhere between 32w and 33w3d along. In the last week or so I’ve had a resurgence of some of my first trimester woes, particularly heartburn and morning sickness. The morning sickness is fairly easily taken care of by Zofran and Unisom, but both make me really drowsy and so can only be taken just prior to Bean’s nap or bedtime. The heartburn, on the other hand, really doesn’t seem to have any cure. Sometimes it is so bad that it makes me cough and gag.

Even without nursing anymore I am still experiencing a lot of uncomfortable Braxton Hicks contractions. They usually occur when I have busy days or when I have to climb the stairs a lot. Sometimes they make me have panic attacks. I think this is because my uterus gets so hard that my lungs and other organs are even more squashed than usual. I start to feel like I can’t get a good breath and then I panic. I know this is not good. I’m really trying to figure out ways not to panic and calm down. Sometimes just drinking some really cold water seems to help. I really want to figure this out before it comes time for real labor though or I might be in some serious trouble.

Anyway, that just about sums everything up around here. Hopefully I’ll be more prompt with my updates in the future. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Homeschooling, Natural Living, Parenting, Pregnancy and Birth, Ramblings

2 responses to “A proper update

  1. Ruth

    Aw, Lisa, sorry you are having such a hard time with all of this. 😦 I do have a couple ideas that might help and I will pray for you too!

    For the leafy greens/iron issue, maybe you could try putting a half a jar of pureed spinach in her smoothie. You could also try cooking rice in some beef broth and see if she will eat that. Have you tried giving her meatloaf? It’s a little softer/different consistency than regular meat, maybe she would like it better?

    How much milk is she drinking? She is liking it now right? Is it possible that she is filling up on milk? Maybe if you save the milk until after she has eaten part of her meal? I had to do this at some point with both of the girls. They would drink milk and then not really be hungry.

    For the heartburn have you tried raw apple cider vinegar? I have heard good things about it and have some on hand now to try next time I have some reflux. I have also heard that ginger tea with honey helps and aloe vera juice can help too. Haven’t tried any yet though, but I have them all in my house. 😀

    I don’t know what to do about the braxton hicks contractions, but I have some experience with panic attacks and feeling like I can’t get enough air. When I feel like that I do what I call a “double exhale” – I exhale, and then exhale again, so that when I take my next breath I feel like I am able to take a deeper breath. After a few minutes of this I feel better. I think when we panic we tend to breathe in too much and not exhale enough, and then we feel like we can’t get enough air in because our lungs are still so full. I’m sure that having a hard uterus pushing on things up there can only amplify this feeling.

    And you are right about Jillian, she is learning every day by exploring her world, and interacting with you guys. You are doing a great job. No DVD program necessary. 😀

  2. grandmatiger

    As an adult Picky, I have to say that sometimes you have to sneak stuff in to other foods, but as she gets older try to reduce it or one day she will figure it out and feel tricked. I still remember going on an absolute food strike when I was six or so, because I “caught” my grandmother mixing some vegetables into something. Cutting back on milk and juice before meals as suggested above may help, and you may want to try some fortified juices – they have those V-8 mixes now that hide a whole serving of veges in what tastes like apple or orange juice. You could also try making some cookies and such that have a protein inclusion, my gluten-free baking mix contains Garbanzo bean flour and Soy. Some recipes have applesauce substituted for part of the oil and egg, you could try mixing some spinach and applesauce into a cookie or muffin recipe. You may also want to try some of the “toddler formula” type products, which have supplemental minerals, vitamins, iron, etc. Remember that a “serving” for a little child is a lot smaller than for an adult; I think the old rule of thumb was one or two tablespoons of food per year of age at a sitting, so Bean would eat maybe two tbl of something and feel full.

Leave a Reply

