Thankful.

Sorry I’ve been a bit absent. Then again it seems the rest of the blog community has as well so I don’t feel so bad.

Usually this happens to me when I get wrapped up in a project or a book. Both are happening right now. Can’t really blog the projects because they are Christmas presents. And I’m sure you’d get sick of me quoting passages from the book I’m reading.

I’ve also been experiencing some “false” labor freakouts since Sunday and so I’ve been technically on bedrest. The best way to make this work with Bean when I am home alone with her is to hole ourselves up in our guestroom with some of her toys where she really can’t get into anything, can’t go running off into places she isn’t allowed and so I don’t have to go up and down the stairs 50 times a day for diaper changes, naps, etc.

So because of that it seems our decision this year not to go anywhere for Thanksgiving was a good one. Though it has made for the most different and quiet Thanksgiving we’ve had since we were dating. I actually wondered if we’d even have a traditional feast at several points or just wind up eating leftovers because nearly every activity starts me feeling like I’m about to go into labor. Not fun.

But I managed to save up most of my energy and pull off a little mini-feast for our three person family.


Herb roasted turkey half breast on a bed of brown and wild rice stuffing.


The feast, clockwise from top: rice stuffing, herb roasted turkey, cheater Trader Joe’s gravy (I’m terrible at making gravy and theirs is pretty good), mashed potatoes, and cranberry orange sauce (not from a can, once you do it homemade you’ll never go back).


This was the first Thanksgiving where it was possible for Bean to eat the food, but she just played with it instead. Gotta love my picky little eater.

So anyway I am thankful for many things today. Among them:
-Not actually going into labor yet. I am hoping to at least make it to 36 weeks (Monday) and even better would be 37 weeks so that I can still have the labor/birth experience I want and have him at home with my midwife. Before Monday and we’ll be making a not-so-fun emergency trip to the hospital.
-My sister, Andrea. She dropped everything she was doing on Tuesday to help me out. She drove down here, purchased some of my homebirth supplies, went grocery shopping for me, helped me do a bunch of laundry, clean, entertained Bean and so much more. And on top of it all she’s 29 weeks pregnant. Seriously, the girl is a superstar.
-My husband. Tuesday after work he went to Target and got the rest of our homebirth supplies, some of which include items that are quite embarassing for him to purchase, I’m sure. He got up this morning with Bean, let me rest and relax pretty much the whole day and has been rocking the deep cleaning of our house and still is as I type this. He is awesome.


The giant to-do list he made today and has nearly completed!

4 Comments

Filed under Family, Pregnancy and Birth, Ramblings

4 responses to “Thankful.

  1. Mary

    I hope that you get to last the full time and have the baby the way you want. Always healthier if he goes the full time. You are a good mom. You put lots of planning into it.

    I want a copy of that picture of Bean with her knitted hat and matching outfit. She is such a doll. I need to update our family wall, so would like a photo of you, Stephen, Bean and Sprout ….not rushing you. Just e-mail photo and I will enlarge it.

    Hang in there. Hugs to all.

    Aunt Mary

  2. lwuertz

    Aunt Mary, We have some family photos in the works with a photographer friend that we should have to use as our holiday photos this year and she wore the hat and outfit for them. So when we get those back I’ll be sure to send you a copy. 🙂

  3. Your Thanksgiving feast for 3 looks delicious! I’m glad your sister and husband were able to accomplish so much for you. A helping hand when you’re nearing delivery time is such a blessing! I’ll be praying that the baby stays put so you can have your home birth.

  4. Wow Lisa your feast looks amazing! And I just love your hubby’s list … that so reminds me of my hubby … every weekend … I love it!

Leave a Reply

