Sweater skirt

For a few weeks now I have had my eye on a pretty little red cable knit sweater skirt at babyGAP that I wanted to get for Bean.

However, there were a few problems with said skirt: a) The price. Maybe I’m just cheap, but $25 is about how much I’d expect to spend on a skirt for myself and even then I’d probably hem and haw about it before bolting towards the sale racks to see if I could find something just as cute for any cheaper. When you only have $100 in your personal monthly budget to cover clothes, eating out and craft supplies, $25 is a lot. b) They didn’t have her size. Every single time I would go into our babyGAP they only had size 0-3 months. It was frustrating. And I didn’t want to order online because that would cause problem “a” to go up even more. c) I am a knitter and baby items are particularly easy and cheap to knit because they use so little yarn and are so small.

I had some yarn in the perfect shade leftover from Christmas knitting so I cast on earlier this week. It took a few rip backs to come up with my pattern, but I came up with one and I totally love it. The yarn I used was a different gauge than what was found in the GAP skirt, so I did have to take that into consideration. Also, while I am perfectly capable of the intricate cabling midway down on the skirt, I decided that I really didn’t want to tackle it or make my skirt EXACTLY the same as theirs.

So here is what I came up with:

Bean now has the perfect Christmas piece. She won’t get to show it off much though which is why I decided some photo documentation was in order:

Oh and nothing really to report on for Baby Watch 2009. I’ve had exactly zero activity since false alarm #5.

4 Comments

Filed under Craftopia

4 responses to “Sweater skirt

  1. grandmatiger

    Absolutely adorable! And great job on DIY instead of spending so much on an outfit that, as you mentioned, she may only wear a dozen times.

  2. Pingback: Oh yeah, I knit some stuff and I have a blog where I sometimes talk about crafts… « Daylight Rising

  3. Sunny

    That is a beautiful skirt! She looks adorable in it.

Leave a Reply

