Month fifteen

Bean is fifteen months old on this lovely Christmas Eve. So here are pictures from the past month and and update on what is going on lately in her little world.


We finally had some rain earlier this month and Bean was completely facinated. She pretty much stayed glued to the window all day long to watch it.


She’s starting to tolerate stuff on her head. Sometimes I can get her to wear a bow or a hat for a couple hours. She’ll even walk around the house with these things and ask me to put them on her head. Then she’ll take them back off and swing them in her hands while walking around.

Fun stuff
• Talking: Most of it is gibberish, but she talks all. the. time. She’s such a little chatterbox. She does have quite a few words though including bye-bye/say bye-bye/go bye-bye, hi, yay, yeah, this/is this, mmm, uh-oh, OK, toes, baby, leaf/leaves, uh-uh/no-no, ew, stairs, yum, eye, mouth, and I think that’s it.
• Ew: Speaking of the word ew, she says it so much and at mostly appropriate times, like stinky diaper changes or when she gets her hands into something gross. I really think it is cute.
• Singing: I never understand any of her songs, nor have I heard the melodies before, but she hums and sings her made up gibberish throughout the day.
• Animal Sounds: mooing like a cow, buzzing like a bee, barking like a dog, cawing like the crows at our apartment complex, and mewing like a cat. Most of the time when she wakes up from a nap or in the morning the first thing she does is bark and mew.
• New Foods: Ever since I pulled her off all the stuff she was allergic to, the food issues have been getting easier and easier. She is so much more willing to try new foods and actually even eats them. She often mooches off our plates at dinner now and is getting so much better at eating. At first it was quite the novelty for me to see her actually try and then like meat and some veggies. She does still have a few problems in this area, but we are getting better. One of the main problems is that sometimes she will just keep chewing and chewing a food and not swallow it. I’m not sure why. Usually when she doesn’t like something she will reach in her mouth, pull it out and hand it to you (mmm, yeah the joys of motherhood, right?) so I don’t think that is the issue. She’ll even say “mmm” as she’s chewing it. We just can’t get her to swallow. Sometimes I just wind up sticking my finger in there and pulling out the paste if it has been too long and she’s about to take a nap or something where I don’t want a wad of food stuck in her mouth.
• Copycat: She loves to try and do what we’re doing. The other night we were eating at a Mexican restaurant. She was watching very carefully while Stephen dipped his taquitos in some guacamole. Even though she didn’t have any guacamole she proceeded to copy the dipping motion with her little bites of food. I think this is where she also picked up on the word “OK,” as I tend to say it a lot. One night when she was saying it over and over a whole bunch Stephen said to her, “Good thing Mama just says OK a lot and not F-you,” to which she replied, “OK, OK, OK.” 
• Dancing: She loves music and tries to dance or bounce around especially if there is a particularly upbeat song on.
• Reading: Books are one of her favorite things. She loves to have us read to her, she loves pulling out her books and pointing to various pictures to ask us what stuff is, she also loves pretending to read to us. She even does it complete with voice inflections and giggling at key points. And if she recognizes an animal in the book she’ll start making its sound.  It is pretty cute.

• Mama’s Little Helper: While her help isn’t always so helpful, she really does like to help me do stuff around the house. Since I usually don’t have much of a timetable I think it is fun to encourage her in this even if sometimes I wind up with a little more mess or spending way more time than I would have on an activity. Her particular favorite is helping with the laundry. She loves to put in/pull out the clothes in the washing machine and dryer and put in/pull them out of the baskets. She tries to help when we fold diapers. At first she’ll start out by putting the different pieces in my various piles correctly, but it usually decends into her tossing wash cloths all over the room while I race to try and finish stuffing the diapers before she makes too much of a mess. She also loves to watch while I do dishes or make food. We’re just a little paranoid about the kitchen though so I don’t really let her help much in there. She usually watches from a safe distance in her walker or booster seat and I try to tell her about what I’m doing as I go along.

Not so fun stuff
• Hitting: About two days ago Bean started hitting me when she doesn’t get her way. It has only happened a handful of times. The first time I was letting her snack on some rice cake while I was knitting on the couch. She’s a stuffer though so I only give her a few bites at a time. Her mouth was completely full, but she wanted more rice cake. I told her, as usual, to finish chewing. She kept trying to grab at the bag and going “uuuuh… uuuuuh…. yeah.” When I said no and to finish chewing she scrunched her face up, hit me on the leg with all the force her little arm could muster (which isn’t much), and grunted. So that was the end of the rice cake and a tantrum of epic proportions ensued. Next time I was knitting and she kept trying to pull on my knitting needles/yarn/project. I told her no and she did the same thing. That time I put her in a timeout in the pack n’ play. Another tantrum ensued and I decided it was naptime.
• No: The word “no” is becoming one of her favorites. Sometimes if we ask her to come to us or do something she’ll shake her head and say, “no-no” over and over or run away.
• Grabbing: If something is purposely out of her reach or we have something she wants she has started trying to take matters into her own hands and grab it.
• Demanding: Also, if we have something she wants or it is out of her reach and we don’t get it for her upon first asking she’ll start trying to grab it and say, “yeah” or “aaah” or whinning very loudly. Sometimes she even starts crying.

Needless to say, with all these little issues popping up I’ve ordered The Dicipline Book from the Sears Parenting Library. Any other titles or recommendations are welcome. I know she’s only fifteen months old, but I don’t want to have these behaviors continue to get to nightmarish proportions by the times she’s say three and capable of a lot more.

Also, please don’t think that I’m completely worn out or overwhelmed by all this either. I’m really not having that hard of a time with it and she is mostly a really, really great kid. She has a fun spirit, she giggles a lot, and she is totally happy almost all the time. Anyone that has watched her or been around us always comments on how sweet and well behaved she is. These issues are really far and few between, but like I said I want to curb them now before they get out of hand.

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Parenting

One response to “Month fifteen

  1. Sunny

    What a sweetie! Every stage is honestly so much fun. It is hard to watch them grow up and yet you can’t wait to see what’s next.

Leave a Reply

