Oh yeah, I knit some stuff and I have a blog where I sometimes talk about crafts…

So there were a few Christmas knitting projects that I almost forgot to talk about on here. And since I still haven’t had a baby, I’ve managed to completely reorganize our upstairs and do every scrap of laundry around here, I figured I’d better get on it with this posting about my projects business. Excuse the terrible photos, I wasn’t quite as good about documenting these projects because I was just trying to get them done in time.

First up is the “Piper Purse” from Knitting Little Luxuries by Lucinda Guy.

I made this one for my sister, Andrea. She was super excited about it when she saw it. It’s nice and roomy and it is reversable. I used the yarn leftover from this project to make Bean’s cabled skirt.

Then, with the leftover fabric and some red sock yarn I had on hand I made another creation for Bean.

I worked the top part of the Shalom Cardigan that I had wanted to make for myself when we did or photoshoot, except on size 2 needles with sock yarn and I added more buttons. It came out the perfect size for Bean. Then I just measured out about 12 inches along a yard of the fabric, worked a gathering stitch along the top and attached it to the knitting. Hemmed the bottom and I had this cute little dress. This idea wasn’t exactly original. I have seen a few similar dresses on the web from the Jane Austen dress to la robe caresse (I originally wanted to make this exact dress, but I don’t speak French, unfortunately).

And then probably my most suicidal knit yet, the Men’s Zipped Vest from Knitting Classic Style by Veronik Avery. I think I started this thing about two weeks before Christmas. It is knit on size five needles and I had to add in a bunch of extra length because my father-in-law is a very tall man (he has to bend almost completely in half just to be able to give my 5’2″ self a hug).

Now I know where my husband gets his cheeseball in front of the camera tendencies. Stephen said I shouldn’t have expected anything less from a man that staged his own pirate themed profile picture on Facebook.

Anyway, that about sums up my knitting for the year, I think. I have no plans to start anything new within the next couple days. I’m currently burried in a mound of new books as well as several that I’ve been meaning to read for quite some time.

5 Comments

Filed under Craftopia, Family

5 responses to “Oh yeah, I knit some stuff and I have a blog where I sometimes talk about crafts…

  1. those are awesome! I wish i could knit!

  2. Must be fun having a pirate for a FIL. 🙂 Love the knits and sews!!

  3. Sunny

    I love the purse and dress! Do you happen to have any more leftover yarn and fabric to make Bean a matching purse? I think that would be so cute! I don’t know if she’s interested in playing with purses yet though.

  4. Sunny

    Oh, duh.. um, you are about to have a baby soon. I’m sure you’ll have LOADS of time to start another project, right? Sorry, that was a rather dumb idea! I still think it would be cute but maybe not the best time to suggest it. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Wee Shalom Cardi « Daylight Rising

Leave a Reply

