Roasted Brussels Sprouts

If you are about my age and had parents that grew up in the 60s and 70s, you probably didn’t see Brussels Sprouts at your dinner table growing up. That’s because our parents were given this vegetable in the most disgusting manner possible: boiled or steamed. This results in a slimy, pungent ball of leaves in your mouth. There’s no way I would have touched them either. As a result, most people only think they hate Brussels Sprouts.

I think it’s all in the preparation though and will venture to say that most people actually will like them if done right. I, too, was in disbelief until September when my friend Brooke made some roasted Brussels Sprouts for me (different recipe). So don’t knock it until you try it. Besides, there is bacon involved and we all know that like butter, bacon makes everything better.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Ingredients

-1 package fresh Brussels Sprouts
-3 slices bacon
-1 Bartlett pear
-olive oil
-salt
-pepper
-thyme

Directions
Preheat oven to 425°.

Cut Brussels Sprouts in half.

Chop pear.

Slice bacon into thin strips.

Catch toddler getting into your secret stash of Jelly Bellys.

Scatter sprouts, pear, and bacon on a cookie sheet. Drizzle with olive oil. Season with salt, pepper and thyme.

Place in oven for 20-30 minutes or until Brussels Sprouts are tender and slightly crispy around the edges.

Serving suggestion:
While you’re at it, go for the whole classic ’60s meal of Brussels Sprouts, mashed potatoes and meat loaf. Only make Ina Garten’s meat loaf and not the dry brick you’re thinking of.

8 Comments

Filed under Gourmet Lisa

8 responses to “Roasted Brussels Sprouts

  1. Kim Henry

    Hey, my grandfather has always argued that they taste fine once you cut them in half. It releases the gasses they have or something like that. I’ve just never had the courage to try, but this looks yummy!!

  2. I love boiled and steamed brussel sprouts. That’s the only way had ever had them growing up. But I did try a version of roasted last year and they were amazing! I’ll have to try this recipe, too.

  3. Looks amazing, Lisa! I don’t know how you manage to cook such ambitious meals with two tiny children. Very inspiring. Also, bacon + brussels sprouts– so good.

  4. lovelearnandlive

    Those look fantastic! And I am not old enough to be your parent but I was definitely eating boiled brussels sprouts in the early 1980s and maybe even the 70s. 😀 I agree that they are better roasted…and I also agree that nearly anything is better with bacon!

  5. wow, those actually look really good! maybe next time i’m at tj’s i won’t be so scared of them;)

  6. GrandmaTiger

    Bacon – the Candy of meats. Search for “International Bacon Day 2010”. Recipes.

  7. Leslie

    OMG! I love you Lisa! I bought some a few weeks ago because they just looked so pretty. But I got nervous and never cooked them because I couldn’t find any decent recipes. I’m so going to go buy some more and finally try them!

  8. this looks SO GOOD.
    I’m one of the weirdos who LOVES brussel sprouts, i even love them boiled, a lot. With butter.
    But my husband despises them and gets mad when I cook them b/c he says they smell like farts LOL!
    Soooo, I think I should totally try making these for him, who is he to say no to bacon?!

Leave a Reply

