Helping Mommy in the kitchen or how to get your kid to eat Brussels Sprouts

I’ve read time and time again that the best way to get your kids interested in food is to have them help you in the kitchen. Stephen and I have constantly worried about kitchen safety and mostly keep Bean out of there. I just don’t want her to get hurt because she got into something or accidentally got underfoot.

However, I’ll admit it can be a bit hectic and frustrating when I am cooking each night to have Bean going into a meltdown because she’s bored and left out of what’s going on in the kitchen.

So tonight I decided that I could come up with a way for her to help and still keep her safe. I created a little work station for her and had her place cut up items on a cookie sheet. It was so much fun and she was so cute to watch getting excited over food and helping me.


Ack! The coloration is so off on this photo, but it’s my only proof. I forgot to reset my white balance when I first started shooting and I was already done with the Brussels Sprouts by the time I realized it. She was totally munching on the raw Brussels Sprouts!


So this was our little system… I’d cut stuff up and hand it to her…


Then she would take it over… (usually snacking along the way)


…and place them on the cookie sheet.


Assessing her work and feeling very accomplished.


“Hi Mama. You don’t mind…


…if I snack a little while I help, do you?”

The taste of victory…


Brussels Sprouts!

OK, as you can see from the photos she mainly played with the finished product, but she did eat a couple leaves off one. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Gourmet Lisa, Parenting

One response to “Helping Mommy in the kitchen or how to get your kid to eat Brussels Sprouts

  1. That is a cute idea to keep her busy and happy! Although my husband would not have touched dinner if he knew our kids were snacking on them in the process of making dinner, haha. He won’t ever eat after the kids. I thought most Daddies were “garbage men” who’d eat anything? Not my husband!

Leave a Reply

