Best of Both Worlds Lasagne

If you want to be a vegetarian, you kind of have to like vegetables. Like a lot. Obviously.

As many of you know, I have been one off and on over the years. So I definitely like my veggies. When it comes to many dishes, I usually like the version with extra veggies over the meat version.

My husband on the other hand is an, “eater of meat,” as he puts it. Definitely a carnivore. Tends to complain when I make a meal that doesn’t include meat. If he doesn’t complain, he doesn’t go back for seconds or chow down on the leftovers the next day, for sure.

Since I do like meat in addition to my veggies, I sometimes am torn between which version of stuff I should partake in. You know the situation… you’re at an event with lots of people and lots of food and there is a veggie pizza and a meat pizza, veggie/cheese enchiladas and chicken enchiladas, etc. Often I don’t want to choose so I end up eating way too much because I have to have a little of both.

Well, that is where this lasagne recipe comes in. It combines the two so you don’t have to choose! It definitely isn’t really gourmet either because I used preshredded cheese and store-bought sauce as a base. You could fancy it up and make everything from complete scratch if you wanted to though.

Best of Both Worlds Lasagne

Ingredients
-1 jar Pomodoro Rustico sauce from TJs
-2 sweet Italian sausage links
-1 cup bell peppers, chopped
-1 cup frozen artichoke hearts, chopped
-1 cup carrots, chopped
-2 cups fresh baby spinach leaves
-1 box lasagne noodles
-1 bag shredded mozarella
-some shredded Parmesan

Directions
Preheat oven to 375.

Cook sausage links over medium heat until browned and cooked through. Remove from pan and chop into small pieces.

Add carrots to pan and cook until softened. Return sausage to the pan and add sauce, artichoke hearts, and bell pepper. Cook until warmed through.

Any Italian will tell you that you have to taste the sauce during the cooking process. It really is just a must. Bean was hanging out with me in the kitchen while I was cooking and in an effort to make her feel involved, I let her taste test the sauce. Doing this with her brought back so many memories as a kid getting to taste test the sauce with my dad.


She’s saying “hot”.


Mmmm….

Next you’ll want to layer your ingredients in a big casserole dish.


Sauce on the bottom so that the pasta doesn’t stick…


…uncooked pasta next…


…another layer of sauce and then some of your spinach leaves…


…the cheeses…


…and on and on until you get a full pan like this.

Bake covered for 40 minutes and then uncovered for another 5 minutes.


Remove from oven and enjoy.


If I ever want to become a serious food/recipe blogger, I’m going to have to get better at plating my food.

3 Comments

Filed under Gourmet Lisa

3 responses to “Best of Both Worlds Lasagne

  1. julia

    I’m sure you’ve already discovered rice pasta as a GF substitution, and Pasta Joy actually makes brown rice lasagne noodles!

    http://www.tinkyada.com/ProList.htm

    Thought I would share in case you haven’t come across them yet.

  2. lwuertz

    Thanks Julia! I like these quinoa noodles I get at Whole Foods. They really taste like regular noodles. Bean had some veggie curls quinoa pasta last night with some of the sauce instead of the lasagne that we had.

  3. GrandmaTiger

    I may even try this one, though meat-lover that I am, I will add some browned ground beef as well. The “roomate” may even eat it as long as I don’t tell him the pasta is GF

Leave a Reply

