I love cloth diapering, part 8: Cloth with two babies

Just when everyone thought I was crazy and inflicting extra work (and disgusting poop dealings) on myself than should be necessary for a mom, I up and had another baby and decided to do cloth with both. Completely NUTSO, right?

Actually, I still don’t feel crazy or like it is that much extra work. Sure, I do have my limits, like when we moved and both kids spent a week in disposables. For the most part, however, I am still dissatisfied with disposable diapers and love my cloth diapers.

As with many parenting adventures, some things about our cloth diapering routine did have to change when Sprout came along. I thought I’d update you on how things are going now that I feel like I’ve got things figured out.

Since we use a one-size diaper, the BumGenius 3.0, both kids are in the same diapers right now. We just have them on different rises.

As such, the system I had before with pre-assembled diapers filling the baskets in the changing table was not working. So, I created what Stephen refers to as “the build your own diaper bar” which he says is kind of like a salad bar, but with diapers.

So here’s my changing table once again (and LOOK! I discovered today that the shelf DOES work with the baskets we bought! It looks so much neater than it did before!):

I have baskets with pre-sized, color appropriate shells for each kid:

Oh and it turns out that my worries about far too many pink diapers were unfounded. We have plenty of white and green diapers for Sprout to live in and I went ahead and bought three more diapers in boy colors (blues and greens).

Then I have all the newborn inserts in one basket. I am currently stuffing Sprout’s diapers with two of these at a time and at night I do one of the thicker inserts with a newborn insert as a doubler so he can make it through the night sans leaks.

And the thicker, adjustable inserts in another basket:

And that gives me a couple extra baskets for storage, which I really like because now all those burp rags I really need this time around have a home:

So anyway what we essentially do is stuff a diaper for each kid right before we change their diaper depending on who is getting changed.

I tried a couple different systems before this and didn’t like them. First I did pre-stuffed and sized diapers for each kid layered in the baskets. This didn’t work because in some situations like at night when I stuff the diapers differently (at night I double stuff Bean’s diaper with two thick inserts and I already described above what I do for Sprout) I would have to pull diapers apart and we would wind up with extra shells/inserts lying around. So then I tried what we have now, but things not really being very neat and just tossed in each basket. I didn’t like this because 1) I am totally anal and the unorderliness of it really bothered me and 2) I realized I needed a neat stack so that I could make sure all the diapers got even wear and tear by putting freshly washed stuff on the bottom of the stack. So then once I got it looking all nice and neat I had the shells layered boy-girl in the baskets, but that didn’t really work either because sometimes they go through diapers at a different rate throughout the day (usually Sprout gets an extra diaper change at the end of the day and if Bean is having one of her “poop days” she goes through a lot more diapers in a day). So it finally materialized to what I have now with different baskets for boy and girl.

I am doing laundry a lot more these days, but I have been doing laundry a lot more these days anyway thanks to all the spit-up and outfit changes. So really it isn’t even a blip on the radar because I pretty much have at least one load of laundry going every day be it diapers or clothes. Speaking of laundry, my diaper funk issues went away once we moved and stopped having to deal with a front loading HE washer.

Well, there you have it, cloth diapering with two.

And if you are new to my blog, or want to know more about cloth diapering you can check out the previous installments in this series:

I love cloth diapering, part 1: Why consider cloth?

I love cloth diapering, part 2: The various styles and brands

I love cloth diapering, part 3: Potty training and swimming

I love cloth diapering, part 4: Building a stash

I love cloth diapering, part 5: From changing table to laundry room

I love cloth diapering, part 6: On the road again…

I love cloth diapering, part 7: The diaper funk

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Natural Living, Parenting

Leave a Reply

