Gluten-Free Granola

I kind of get on kicks where I try to make everything from scratch at home because the food industry scares me. This is one of those kicks. And I haven’t even seen Food, Inc. yet, imagine what will happen to me after that.

A lot of granola in the stores has so much crap in it that I can’t even pronounce. And a lot of it has either wheat or egg whites in it, two things Bean can’t have.

Inspired by the Weelicious Wee Granola, I decided to try my hand at making a gluten-free version of this recipe. My recipe is really similar to hers, but I’ve changed things where I needed to accommodate Bean’s food allergies.

Ingredients:
-2 cups certified gluten-free rolled oats
-1 1/2 cups soy nuts (She has a mix of several nuts in her recipe, but since soy is the only “nuts” Bean has had, I decided to use those. I am not planning on introducing other nuts until after she’s two)
-3/4 cup dried fruit(s) of your choice (Again she has a mix adding up to this, but I just had dried apricots on hand so that is what I used, you can check out her recipe for more ideas)
-2 tbsp flax meal (She uses wheat germ, but Bean can’t have that so I Googled wheat germ substitute and this is what it said to use)
-1 tsp cinnamon (I really like the taste of cinnamon so I doubled her amount)
-1 tbsp molasses (Molasses are a really good source of iron and since our little gal isn’t a big fan of meat I’m always looking for ways to get more iron into her)
-1/4 cup plus 3 tbsp honey (between this and the molasses this adds up to the 1/2 cup honey she suggests in her recipe)
-1/2 cup Earth Balance with olive oil, melted (I didn’t have any vegetable oil on hand)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 275.

Place all ingredients in a mixing bowl, stir until completely combined.

Place mixture on a parchment lined cookie sheet (please trust me and do this, you will thank me later when you don’t have granola stuck to your cookie sheet).

Bake for 40 minutes (OK her recipe has you bake for 30 minutes and then another 40, I tried this the first time and wound up with burnt granola, so I just did 40 minutes total and it turned out great). Remove from oven and let it remain on the sheet until it’s completely cooled so it can harden.

Serve with milk like cereal, with yogurt and fresh fruit, or you can put it in trail mix to munch on as a snack. She has a recipe for chewy granola balls that I may try as well.

1 Comment

Filed under Gourmet Lisa

One response to “Gluten-Free Granola

  1. I’m going to try this! I think I’ll make mine with slivered almonds and throw in some coconut and of course real butter. 😀

Leave a Reply

