A Mediterranean feast

After finally finishing Three Cups of Tea and coming across a recipe for Tandoori chicken kebabs in my cookbook during menu planning last week, I had a craving. I wanted lamb kebabs instead of chicken though and most of the recipes for lamb that I found were the typical roasted lamb chops with mint sauce. So, I decided to make my own up because that’s what I do.

I looked over several of the Tandoori chicken recipes and ingredients in Tandoori paste to try and figure out the commonalities between them. Some used yogurt as a dipping sauce and spices as a dry rub, some used yogurt and spices in a marinade, some did both. All of the recipes had most of these ingredients in common: yogurt, ginger, garlic, cumin, chili powder, paprika, lemon juice, salt, majoram and saffron.

I also know that I’m not a huge fan of super spicey things so I didn’t really want to follow a recipe anyway so that I could put in the amounts that may not be traditional, but also wouldn’t leave me gulping several glasses of milk in order to make it through dinner. So this is what I came up with.

Tandoori Marinated Lamb Kebabs

Ingredients
-2 lamb steaks, trimmed and cut into 1 inch cubes (luckily this craving came right around Passover when Trader Joe’s usually carries some excellent pastured New Zealand lamb)
-2/3 cup yogurt (we used So Delicious brand cultured coconut milk so that Bean could enjoy the meal with us)
-1/2 tsp ginger
-2 cloves garlic, pressed
-1/2 tsp cumin
-1/8 tsp chili powder
-juice of 1/2 lemon
-4 cracks of sea salt on my sea salt cracker/shaker
-6 threads saffron
-1/4 tsp paprika
-1/4 tsp majoram

Mix all ingredients except lamb together in a small prep bowl.

Pour marinade over lamb and mix well to coat evenly.

Now, I did this in the morning and the meat sat in the marinade all day in our fridge. I’m sure an hour or two would probably be sufficient though. Remove meat from fridge 20 minutes prior to grilling.

Preheat grill to 425°F.

Skewer meat. If you want, you can put onions and bell pepper in between the pieces of meat (some of the recipes I looked at did that with the chicken) or you can just do all-meat skewers which is what we did.

Place on grill. Grill for 5-6 minutes, turn once, and grill for 5-6 minutes more.

I forgot to get a picture of the meat on the skewers, but here it is on a plate after we removed the skewers.

I had purchased some whole wheat pitas at the farmer’s market so I decided to make some rice pilaf and hummus to go with which kind of turned it into more of a Mediterranean meal than a Tandoori one. Oh well, pita, hummus, and rice pilaf are good. Mmmm…

Rice Pilaf

Ingredients
-1 tbsp butter (again in consideration of Bean’s food allergies we used Earth Balance made with olive oil, but regular butter would taste and be so much better for you so use that)
-2 cups brown basmati rice
-1 pinch saffron
-1 quart chicken stock
-2 bay leaves
-salt to taste

Place all ingredients in rice cooker and turn it on (I’m really terrible at making rice, but if you know how to do it properly on the stove by all means do so).

This was my first hummus making experience. I’ve always just purchased it pre-made, but it is so simple, I don’t know why I never tried to make it on my own before.

Hummus

Ingredients
-1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
-2 cloves of garlic, pressed
-2 tbsp Tahini sauce
-1/4 cup olive oil
-1 tsp paprika
-salt to taste

Place all ingredients in food processer or blender and pulse until smooth. Serve with warm pita.

1 Comment

Filed under Gourmet Lisa

One response to “A Mediterranean feast

  1. Kourtni

    You just made me hungry for lamb and hummus at 10:00 am. lol. This looks delicious. I’ve been meaning to make something with lamb for weeks… I might just have to give this a try.

Leave a Reply

