Acorn Sweater

I was recently invited to a baby shower for one of the ladies in our Bible study that is due to have a boy in October. When I got the invitation August seemed so far away and I thought I would have plenty of time to make something. Well then this summer and the month of July just flew by so fast and the week before the shower I still hadn’t even decided on a project. If I had been very sure about what I was going to make this wouldn’t have been much of an issue, I can usually whip out a baby knit in a couple days.

I kept changing my mind though and ripping it out and next thing I knew Sunday arrived and I was knitting right up until 20 minutes before the shower with lots more to go. Time to give up and just go empty handed except for the salad I promised to bring to the party.

Part of the problem is that I picked out a varigated yarn, something I had sworn off months ago. Varigated yarns are just really hard for my brain to work with because I can’t control what is happening. A color change would happen in an awkward part of the pattern and I’d get frustrated and rip out.

I just couldn’t resist this yarn though. The color name is aptly titled, “Earth” and it’s no wonder with all those lovely oranges and browns.

Plus, I found the cutest acorn buttons and I had to make it work.

I did eventually figure out what I was going to do and decide. I made up my own pattern which I was dutifully writing down as I went up until the crunch was on and then I abandoned that idea. So no pattern to share here afterall. I do have some cute pictures of Sprout in said sweater though.

I based the pattern on past experience doing raglan sleeves, the men’s Zipped Vest stitch pattern from Veronik Avery’s Knitting Classic Style (which if you remember I made for my father-in-law for Christmas last year), and for the number to cast on I referenced the Simple Top and Socks with Contrast Stripe from Debbie Bliss Easy Knits (a tried and true pattern I’ve used many times for other baby gifts).

Congratulations Lindsey and Randy! Can’t wait until your new little guy joins our growing group of kiddos.

4 Comments

Filed under Craftopia

4 responses to “Acorn Sweater

  1. GAH. You are so talented!

  2. bandofbrothers

    must have. are u selling???heehee, probably a millions dollars and I can’t afford it…but i sure can admire it! well done my friend!

  3. Wow, that is beautiful. I LOVE the colors!!! 🙂

  4. Barbie

    You should make like 10 of these for anyone who has a boy. They are just too precious. I *almost* want to try to have a boy so I can invite you to a shower and beg you to make me one. 😉 *almost*

Leave a Reply

