Lacey Wrap Cardigan

I’m a busty sort of girl. And I hate it.

Pretty ridiculous and slightly hilarious when you consider that many women are willing to undergo painful and costly surgery to get what I have naturally occuring.

I think all women have body issues and this is just one of mine. So while some girls complain about not being able to fill tops out properly, I complain about filling them out far too much. The grass is always greener, isn’t it?

I’m a pretty modest girl, you see, and so I don’t really want to go out into public with several inches of cavernous cleavage spilling out and begging to be stared at. It’s embarassing to me.

Button up shirts and sweaters, in particular, are Enemy No. 1 around here. They aren’t designed with girls like me in mind. The results are pulling and gaping that just isn’t pretty.

As such, I’ve been thrilled to bits with all these lacey, flowy, wrap-style open front cardigans that have been cropping up everywhere.


Anthropologie’s Cold Rush Cardigan


Anthropologie’s Jet Stream Cardigan


Target’s Mossimo Black Drape Front Cardigan 


Urban Outfitters’ Kimchi Blue Floral Bouquet Cardigan

I’ve already got three in my closet. They are so versitile and can easily be paired with belts and ties to flatter your figure or worn loosely to cover up the parts of you that need some forgiveness.

The thing with stuff like this is you can never have too many. I decided I wanted to design and knit one myself that would be just the right color with just the right details.

I’m so pleased with the results and hope you are too. The pattern is included below the pictures if you would like to create one for yourself. Hopefully you can understand me, if not leave a comment and I’ll try to help you out. Happy knitting!

Lacey Wrap Cardigan Pattern
Size: One size fits most
Needles: US 5
Yarn: Berroco Ultra Alpaca Fine in color 1214, I used 2 skeins, but if you want to make this longer or wider you may need more.

Sleeves and Body Upper
Cast on 89 stitches

Work in seed stitch for 7 rows.
Row 8 (WS): Purl across
Row 9 (RS): K1, work row 1 of lace pattern across

Row 10 (WS): Work row 2 of lace pattern to last stitch, p1

Work the 10 rows of the lace pattern 5 times, keeping the first stitch on the right side in stocking stitch.

Rows 59-63: Work in stocking stitch.

Row 64: BO 44 sts, purl to end.

Continue working in stocking stitch over remaining stitches until piece measures 8 inches from cast off edge, ending with a WS row.

Next row (RS): Knit to end, cast on 44 sts using the thumb loop method.

Work 5 rows in stocking stitch.

Next row (RS): K1, knit row one of lace pattern across repeating to end.

Work 10 rows of lace pattern 5 times total as for other sleeve.

Work 6 rows seed stitch, BO all stitches in pattern.

Fold over sleeves and seam 4 inches in from cast on/off edges. You should have a little bit of a flap leftover on both sides which make up the right and left fronts of the piece.

With right side facing, pick up a stitch along the bottom of left front, back, and right front. Work in stocking stitch until desired length (mine was 12 inches from the pick up).

Next work lace pattern across bottom. Do five repeats of the rows of lace just as for sleeves. Work 6 rows in seed stitch, BO all stitches in pattern.

Pick up desired number of stitches along the fronts and neck (I am not providing a number because I hate when patterns specify a number on a section like this and it makes my collar either ruffly or too tight, you’ve got to figure out what looks best for you) and work in seed stitch to desired width (I did it until I ran out of yarn) then BO all stitches in pattern.

6 Comments

Filed under Craftopia

6 responses to “Lacey Wrap Cardigan

  1. It turned out perfect, Lisa! I totally love it. If I ever get done with all the UFO’s I have around here, I’ll do this one! 🙂

  2. So super cute! I may have to attempt it at some point!

  3. I am seriously amazed that you made that!! It’s incredible! I so wish had a talent like this, so impressive 😀

  4. Kourtni

    SO CUTE! I love the cardigans and sweaters coming out this fall too!

    But I’m still jealous of your boobs. Just sayin….

  5. I really love this new cardigan style! I want one, I’m just not sure it’ll actually look good on me. Your hamdmade one is awesome!

  6. Pingback: Divination « Daylight Rising

Leave a Reply

