Scones

I made some pretty heavenly scones today. I basically just adapted and blended this recipe for Rock Cakes that I made for the Harry Potter party and my friend Cara’s family biscuit recipe. It is kind of ridiculous how delicious they are, even the vegan gluten-free version.

One thing I realized that I did “wrong” though was that I didn’t stack two together before baking to get the really tall and fluffy versions that Cara has. I was trying to figure out why mine were so thin this time around. That’s what I get for skimming through the directions and working from memory. Next time, if there is a next time that I can handle having these in my house, I will not make that mistake.

They are so super fluffy and flaky. I actually can’t believe how fluffy and flakey the gluten-free version came out. Nothing gluten-free that I have made has come out so wonderfully before.

So I am going to attempt to put it all together for you so you can make some too.

Gluten-free, vegan version ingredients
• 2 cups gluten free flour mix
• 1/2 cup Earth Balance buttery spread
• 3 teaspoons baking powder
• 1 teaspoon salt
• 1/2 cup sugar
• 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
• 1/2 cup dried fruit
• 2 over-ripe bananas, mashed
• 1/2 cup almond milk

Regular version ingredients
• 1 cup all purpose flour
• 1 cup whole wheat flour
• 1/2 cup butter
• 1 cup sugar
• 3 teaspoons baking powder
• 1 teaspoon salt
• 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
• 1/2 cup dried fruit
• 1 1/2 cups milk, buttermilk, yogurt or any combination thereof (I used 1 cup homemade plain Greek yogurt and 1/2 cup whole, raw milk)

Preheat oven to 400*F.

Sift flour, salt, sugar, baking powder and pumpkin pie spice together in a bowl. Cut very cold butter/butter substitute into cubes and then cut into flour mixture using a pastry blender until crumbly. But as Cara says, don’t overwork it or you will have flat biscuits.

Cover a sheet of wax paper with flour. Then add your liquid ingredients (for the gluten-free version this is your bananas and almond milk, for the other version this is milk, buttermilk, or yogurt) to the bowl along with the dried fruit. Mix until just moistened. Pour out onto wax paper.

Flour your hands and add flour to the top of the batter then pat out into a rectangle about 1/2″ thick. Using the wax paper, fold the dough in half onto itself, then pat back out, adding more flour to your wax paper to keep it from sticking. Repeat this process until it is possible to cut pieces and have them remain intact without sticking to the paper or your hands.

You can then either cut round, square or triangular pieces of dough from your rectangle. You will stack two on top of each other and then place them on a baking sheet or stone. I also just figured out something else I did wrong, apparently these things are supposed to touch while baking. Mine were an inch apart. Oops!

Bake 10-12 minutes until golden brown.


Gluten-free on left, regular on right


Gluten-free front, regular back

For true scones you will want to make a glaze for them, but they are already really yummy without a glaze.

BlogBooster-The most productive way for mobile blogging. BlogBooster is a multi-service blog editor for iPhone, Android, WebOs and your desktop

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Scones

  1. Morgan

    I don’t have a good recipe for scones. I just use the shortcake recipe from Bisquick. :/ I’ve been wanting a legitimate recipe so I’m very excited to try these!

  2. Pingback: Cobbler « Daylight Rising

Leave a Reply

