I better hurry up and get Christmas behind me, hello 2011

Um hi. It has been awhile. Quite frankly I just haven’t much felt like sitting down to write and edit photos.

I decided today though that my list of things I should be posting about was getting much too long and so I decided to throw together this massive post full of updates and photos of things that have happened since before Christmas when I dropped off the blogging map.

Here goes…

Handmade Christmas and a shower gift

I had big ambitions for Handmade Christmas this year. Almost everyone I knew was supposed to get something handmade. And then I lost all motivation. This pregnancy has been so exhausting. I have barely been sick, I mean a little, but nothing like the other two. Instead I sleep all the time. 3-4 hour naps in the afternoon and I go to bed at like 8:30pm most nights. Also, I wasn’t a super awesome planner and tried to cram all my handmade gifts into November and December. Honestly, not usually a problem for me because I am fast like that. But yeah. So tired.

So here is what I did manage to accomplish:


Embroidered Scandinavian slippers for my sister in Korea. You can follow her super cool blog about her adventures over there by clicking here.


I also made a mini pair for Bean, but they were a tad too mini. So now they are sittng in my craft room and I am trying to figure out what to do with them.

Then my friend Sarah is having a baby boy this month so I made him a set of aviator themed onesies, a faux leather vintage pilot hat and a matching bib. I don’t have finished pictures of all the onesies because I accidentally went on a deleting spree on my camera. They are all based on some Pottery Barn bedding that she got as a handmedown from a friend.

Finally, for our family’s favorite little hip-hop head:

I made a series of embroidery meets hip-hop onesies:

And then a couple days ago, once the madness had died down a bit, I made myself this little hot drink sleeve:

The fair isle pattern is from a Debbie Bliss toddler dress that I had been trying to finish for Bean to wear for Christmas, but when the exhaustion set in that just wasn’t going to be possible. One day I was working on it with one of my favorite hot drinks and I figured out that the motif was just the right size for a hot drink sleeve. So I ripped out the dress and made the sleeve. Selfish, I know.

Sprout hit the 11 month mark, I forgot to take pictures until we visited a petting zoo on Christmas Eve

But hey, it turned out OK, because seriously can it get any cuter than a boy and a bunny? I think not.

Or a boy pinching a guinea pig?

Hehehe.

And this one is just to make my sister mad:

She was pretty pissed that I let him put the hay in his mouth. But she lets her baby listen to ear buds. So we are even. Or something.

There was also a train ride involved. And if you didn’t know, I have a certain affinity for trains. Something I share with my daughter. Love!

Bean had tons of fun at the petting zoo. She did a very good job of making sure all the rabbits, goats, and guinea pigs got just a little bit fatter.

And we had a lovely Christmas thank you for asking.

So there you have it. That about sums things up for the end of 2010. Happy New Year everyone!

6 Comments

Filed under Craftopia, Family, Homemade, Parenting, Photography, Ramblings

6 responses to “I better hurry up and get Christmas behind me, hello 2011

  1. WOW. You are so talented!!!! Your stuff is always so
    amazing!! Kiddos are growing so fast..and as cute as
    always!

  2. Those SLIPPERS!!!!!!!!! Oh my GOSH! You are talented,
    friend!

  3. Paula

    Can you send the minis too and I will give them to a cute
    little Korean girl at school! And you forgot one giant update….
    When is it coming?! I have a post prepared when you announce. Also
    your family is adorable and lovely. I really miss you
    guys.

  4. Lisa Wuertz

    I did it, it was the holiday card post. Didn’t you see it?

  5. Jennifer

    HI! I found your blog and I’m here! I’ll be following your
    creations and enjoying watching your beautiful children grow from
    afar! Blessings, Lisa. =)

  6. I love the slippers! I’m sure you’ll find some cute little
    girl to give them to. The onesies are ALL adorable. I love the faux
    leather hat too! The kids are so cute in their matching
    pjs.

Leave a Reply

