Gourmet Lisa: Cinnamon Apples with Maple Almonds and Millet

You know I have to be feeling quite a bit better if I am posting about food, cooking, coming up with a recipe and all this in the morning, no less.

I plan to talk about natural ways of balancing and healing the thyroid that I found in a subsequent post, but the steps I started taking about a week ago have already shown major improvements in the way I am feeling. Last night I made dinner for the first time in weeks and this morning I was up for something a little more complicated than pulling out cereal for the kids.

With the lack of cooking and appetite around here our CSA fruits and veggies have been building up. I had a whole big bowl full of apples and citrus and we are getting more this morning. Something had to be done.

Ingredients:
• 3-4 apples, peeled, cored and chopped
• cinnamon
• butter or your favorite alternative (despite my beliefs about butter being most traditional and thus best for you, we use Earth Balance buttery spread when making stuff to share with the kids because of Bean’s dairy allergy)
• puffed millet
• maple almonds (I get these at Whole Foods, Trader Joe’s has some cinnamon almonds that are equally delicious, or you could use your favorite candied nut)

Place apples, butter, and a few dashes of cinnamon in saucepan over medium heat. Stir until coated and butter is melted. Cover and cook until apples are slightly soft.

I made two batches this morning and the second batch got a little too soft for my liking so the apples lost some of their tang and crisp. So you have to watch and test to see where you like them best.

Once your apples are to the point you like them, remove from heat. Using a hand chopper, finely chop a good sized handful of the almonds. Add to pan along with about the same amount of your puffed millet.

Stir together until well combined and then serve.

You can use this recipe in a number of ways: eat plain by itself, top yogurt or pancakes or ice cream with it, mix in with some granola, the possibilities are up to you and your level of creativity with food. Enjoy!



BlogBooster-The most productive way for mobile blogging. BlogBooster is a multi-service blog editor for iPhone, Android, WebOs and your desktop

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Gourmet Lisa: Cinnamon Apples with Maple Almonds and Millet

  1. Yum! This looks super tasty. I’ll have to put it into my breakfast rotation…

  2. Andrea

    So I just made this for my breakfast, yummy! Except I used the apple almonds & I didn’t have millet so I topped it with maple pecan granola 🙂 thanks sis!!

  3. Paula

    I miss Whole Foods, I miss cheaply priced almonds and other fine produce, I miss having time to try new recipes, I miss recipes in Real Simple, I miss you, I miss America REAL BAD right now.

  4. Paula

    So guess what I just did… Made caramel sauce from scratch, got waffle cone bites at the store (they have sesame seeds in them, strangely delicious), made the apples (omg for Daegu apples by the way!) and topped it with vanilla ice cream. Yummmmmmmmmmmy! Thanks for the inspiration sis!

Leave a Reply

