Hoo Hoo, or why I haven’t been able to get back to sleep the last hour

Actual conversation that took place at 3am

Owl: Hoo Hoo
Stephen: (sits up in bed) Is that an owl?!? (gets up, goes to window to listen)
Owl: Hoo Hoo
Stephen: (walks into nursery and turns down the sound machine, opens baby gate and walks halfway down the stairs to listen more)
Owl: Hoo Hoo … Hoo Hoo … Hoo Hoo
Me: (meanwhile I am still half asleep and likely to fall back asleep despite the commotion, just starting to drift back off though the owl is kind of annoying especially without the white noise machine drowning it out)
Stephen: (comes back upstairs and starts shaking me awake)
Me: uuuhhhhmmmmmuhhhhhhh
Stephen: Hey, I need you to listen and tell me if you think you hear an owl.
Me: uuuuhhhmmmmmuuuhhhhh… Why does if matter?
Stephen: Because it sounds like a person to me.
Owl: Hoo Hoo
Me: It sounds like an owl.
Stephen: So they really sound like someone saying, “Hoo Hoo?”
Me: It’s totally an owl.
Owl: Hoo Hoo … Hoo Hoo … Hoo Hoo
Stephen: You’re sure?
Me: I don’t know Stephen! It sounds like an owl to me. I can’t see the owl. Why would someone be out there saying that anyway?
Stephen: Up to funny business.
Owl: Hoo Hoo … Hoo Hoo … Hoo Hoo .. Hoo Hoo
Stephen: It’s just so loud. I thought it would be more like a pigeon.

So thank you, Mr. Owl, for cutting off my night of sleep much earlier than I was ready for it to end.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Hoo Hoo, or why I haven’t been able to get back to sleep the last hour

  1. Ruth

    Hahaha. I almost spit out my food while I was reading this. “Up to funny business.” He kills me.

  2. bandofbrothers

    that is really hilarious! stephen is cracking me up!

  3. Paula

    Oh man I am crying laughing!! This is so good. Up to funny business kills me every time i read it. That guy is so funny!

Leave a Reply

