Gluten-free almond crackers

My kids and my husband are big time snackers. My husband can’t be left next to a bag of chips, crackers, etc. He can eat the entire thing in one sitting. My kids always want a snack even if they just finished eating a whole meal.

There are a couple kinds of gluten-free crackers that we all like, but they both have very distinct, noticeable tastes. One is of sesame and one is onion. Each is fine in certain circumstances, but sometimes you just want a “plain” cracker without a flavor that will overpower whatever it is you are pairing that cracker with.

Enter these.

Gluten-free almond crackers

Ingredients:
-1 1/2 cup whole raw almonds
-1 cup Lisa’s Gluten Free Flour Mix
-1 tsp sea salt
-2 tbsp olive oil
-2 tbsp honey
-4+ tbsp water

Preheat oven to 300 degrees F.

Put almonds in food processor and process until finely chopped. You don’t want almond butter or flour, you still want some texture. You can also add in other nuts/seeds (I wanted to do sunflower, but we were out). You can also use pre-chopped nuts/seeds (I am thinking the consistency like you find for an ice cream topping would be right), but I am uncertain about exactly how much you would use since I know that once processed finely they took up less space and so I wound up with less than 1 1/2 cups. The recipe I used for inspiration used a total of 3/4 cup chopped seeds (sesame, chia, hemp, etc), so maybe that would be the right amount?

Combine chopped almonds with remaining ingredients in a mixing bowl and add water 1-2 tbsp at a time as you mix until you get a ball of dough. It should be the consistency of wet clay or playdough, but with chunks of almonds in it.

Place ball between two sheets of parchment paper and using a rolling pin roll out very thin, about 1/4-1/8 inch thick. Remove top layer of parchment and transfer to a cookie sheet.

Use a sharp knife to cut/score the dough to the size of crackers you want. Place in oven and bake 20 min. Remove from oven and allow to cool for a few minutes on the sheet then break apart crackers and cool/dry further on a wire rack.

For those wondering, this is the recipe that was my inspiration.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Gluten-free almond crackers

  1. GrandmaTiger

    I will be trying these very soon. Since I get all the almonds I could ever use from work, this will be a good one to try….

  2. Mmmm . . . these sound yummy!

  3. Pingback: Dear Ritz, I am on to you… « Daylight Rising

Leave a Reply

